Easy Avgolemono Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Delicious, quick and easy, will definitely be making it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have cheated many times and made this for myself when I was craving it, if you thought it had to much rice, just put it was good but next time you'd cut back on the rice. Would I serve this to fellow Greeks, No, but again, when Mom is too busy to make this for the family, because you know only Mom makes it best, I make this myself for a quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This is nothing like the Greek soup I have had before, but it was quick and easy. I didn't even have to go to the store, already had every ingredient on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This recipe just didn't do it for me. I've had Avgolemono soup before at Greek restaurants and Greek Orthodox church festivals and this recipe was not similar. It wasn't even a very decent soup. I made the recipe exactly as it was written and there was way too much rice in it. I saved some of the soup for leftovers and now it looks/tastes like a casserole or rice bake, not a soup. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very creamy, and a delicious quick and easy version of greek lemon soup. I substituted chicken broth for the water and added garlic salt and lemon pepper. This is a keeper for cold nights and quick and easy savory soup. Make it a meal with some additional white meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I saved this but I will add the egg, avgo. In a bowl I place the lemon juice and a slightly beaten egg yolk and to this mixture I add two or three tablespoon of plain chicken soup. Then I put this egg mixture into the already mixed soup with rice and turn it slowly over low heat until soup is thick. I have not tried avgolemono without the egg but must be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Like many have said, this isn't authentic Avgolemono. However, for being quick, and having only 5 ingredients that are usually at hand, I liked it. I used a fresh lemon, white jasmine rice, and added garlic and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
After learning what 'Avgolemono' is, since my family and I are ignorant of Grecian cuisine, I would call this soup 'simplified' instead of 'easy'. Tasty, though it does feel as if it needs something else like spices and more chicken than came in the off-brand cream of chicken I used. I will say that it was a convenient soup, as all ingredients are always in store at home, and I've never had lemon in a soup before so the experience was enlightening. This recipe has inspired me to study and likely prepare Greek dishes and soups in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJZ

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I was home alone tonight and we had our first snow shower of the season: put a chill in my bones thinking of what's to come... LOL Saw this recipe and figured a nice hot bowl of soup would warm me up. Well if you like canned, cream of chicken soup... go for it. To me this was nothing more than that... canned cream of chicken soup, with some lemon juice and a bit too much rice. Some recipes, made fast and easy, just don't measure up. Won't make again, but now I'm on the hunt for a really good recipe for authentic Avgolemono Soup, which really isn't that difficult or time consuming to make, in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was very good. I've never had the original, so I had nothing to compare it to. I think I added too much rice, because it wasn't very soupy. I didn't use the whole amount of lemon juice, and it still seemed very strong to me. The second time I made it, I added dill because I thought it needed something green. It added a nice bit of extra flavor. I think I may trying a touch of garlic or onion next time just for some extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States