Easy Authentic Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Loved how convenient this recipe was, I had everything in my cupboard. The flavor was pretty decent too, we're southern California people who have moved east and are not used to the tex-mex stuff that they pass off as mexican food around here, so I cook a ton now. This was a super quick side to go along with some carnitas enchiladas. As for the "sludge" some other reviewers had, if you mix it in the hot oil before adding the rice you start with something like a roux and incorporates very well. All in all, a quick, convenient and tasty side dish. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It came out a little too oily for me and the water didn't seem to be enough. I had to add more for it to finish cooking. It tasted good though. I think next time I'll just use a little less oil and a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Easy and taste very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra Balderas
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I made this recipe with a couple of changes! I used the same measurements however used coconut oil instead and also chopped up fresh onions and garlic. Also used a bouillon! I've cooked rice before but my handed down recipes don't use any kind of measurements my abuelita is all about eye balling which sometimes I can't do. The measurements for liquid to rice ratio was perfection, my rice turned out delicious for the quick prep time! It only took me 20 minutes tops and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Balderas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Way too much garlic and onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Pretty good rice....didn't really taste like my dads, seemed to be missing something. Not bad though my boyfriend liked it so 4 stars. While covered I totally forgot to check and stir for those 15 min and I had a nice bottom layer stuck to the pan lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This recipe was simple, and I needed a quick rice dish, so I gave it a try. I had to add multiple ingredients just to make the rice tolerable. This is one you can skip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
The large amount of garlic and onion powders ruined this dish for me. I think with a teaspoon of each instead of a tablespoon it might work. The powders formed a 'sludge' for lack of a better term on the top of the rice as it simmered and it wouldn't blend in completely when the rice was mixed. We actually threw out the leftovers, which we almost never do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashryan
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My family loved the rice. We has it with chicken enchilada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is really good! It has a lot of tomato flavor, maybe a little too much, but that's probably just my taste, I'm not a huge tomato fan. It has a nice, savory flavor without hot spices. I thought maybe 1/4 cup was too much oil, so I started with half that amount, but when I added the powders it soaked it all up and I needed the rest. It wasn't oily when it was done, either. Chicken broth came in a 14 oz can, and I measured out 1.5 cups, but ended up using the rest. The rice wasn't quite tender without it, maybe because I used silver pearl (medium grain) rice. It went great with chicken enchiladas. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States