Easy Authentic Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cassandra Balderas
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I made this recipe with a couple of changes! I used the same measurements however used coconut oil instead and also chopped up fresh onions and garlic. Also used a bouillon! I've cooked rice before but my handed down recipes don't use any kind of measurements my abuelita is all about eye balling which sometimes I can't do. The measurements for liquid to rice ratio was perfection, my rice turned out delicious for the quick prep time! It only took me 20 minutes tops and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Balderas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Way too much garlic and onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Pretty good rice....didn't really taste like my dads, seemed to be missing something. Not bad though my boyfriend liked it so 4 stars. While covered I totally forgot to check and stir for those 15 min and I had a nice bottom layer stuck to the pan lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This recipe was simple, and I needed a quick rice dish, so I gave it a try. I had to add multiple ingredients just to make the rice tolerable. This is one you can skip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
The large amount of garlic and onion powders ruined this dish for me. I think with a teaspoon of each instead of a tablespoon it might work. The powders formed a 'sludge' for lack of a better term on the top of the rice as it simmered and it wouldn't blend in completely when the rice was mixed. We actually threw out the leftovers, which we almost never do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashryan
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My family loved the rice. We has it with chicken enchilada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is really good! It has a lot of tomato flavor, maybe a little too much, but that's probably just my taste, I'm not a huge tomato fan. It has a nice, savory flavor without hot spices. I thought maybe 1/4 cup was too much oil, so I started with half that amount, but when I added the powders it soaked it all up and I needed the rest. It wasn't oily when it was done, either. Chicken broth came in a 14 oz can, and I measured out 1.5 cups, but ended up using the rest. The rice wasn't quite tender without it, maybe because I used silver pearl (medium grain) rice. It went great with chicken enchiladas. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
So easy to make and delicious. I lived next to a Mexican family before and moved before asking them to show me how to make. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ym1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I added a can of Rotel instead of tomato sauce. Really good flavor and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
You can also make this with other small shapes of Mexican pasta. I have uploaded a photo showing where I made it with "sopa de ABCs" which is pasta in the shape of the ABCs. You can also use tiny shell pasta. The reason my original recipe didn't include salt is that we are watching our salt intake; hubby has some heart issues, so I am very careful in adding sodium to our meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Monett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States