Easy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This recipe was awful. The buttermilk curdled, the potatoes never cooked...I am thankful to see that I was not the only one with problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe is awful. I did not read the reviews and have learned from my mistake. Took over two hours to cook, were watery and tasted terrible. Whole thing went into the trash. DO NOT try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I caught my mistake using this recipe right after I put it in the oven, so I bumped the temperature up and planned the rest of my meal to be served later in hopes the potatoes would be done. Over an hour at 450 degrees later, the potatoes weren't tender at all. The sauce was a lumpy, and oily. Thankfully I never add salt to most recipes until I taste them at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Brewster
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
What a disappointment! This recipe is all wrong. The potatoes weren't cooked, the "sauce" was all watery and greasy from the chesse. I was disappointed in myself for screwing it up, but after seeing all these other reviews I'm glad to find out that it wasn't me, it was the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I can't believe I didn't look at the reviews first before trying this recipe. Well, It is way too salty. I think I cooked mine in the past at 425 for 45 minutes not 35 because the temperature was too low. I needed to cook this for 2 hours. I used less than half the salt and it was still way too salty. I should have known better than to just follow this recipe blindly especially since I've made this countless times in the past. I'm using it for a Thanksgiving dinner at work and it's ruined. Thanks a lot. You should take this recipe off of this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
After 2 hours the potatoes were still not tender enough, adding just 3tsp of salt & pepper it was too salty, tasted bland and the look was unapealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I make a recipe similar to this all the time, and it is one of my favorites. mabye these suggestions will help. add a little salt and pepper, not much you can salt it to taste later i cook my potatoes at 350 for about an hour, more or less depending. you just have to taste it and see. i layer flour to thicken it up a bit. I use american cheese, and a blend of co-jack and mild cheddar. i layer all types of cheese in each layer. i dot butter in each layer also. just a few thin slivers. it is not very visually appealing, but it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Recipes calls for 30-35 minutes cook time and it has now been 50 minutes and the potatoes are not even close to done. Also, too much buttermilk - it's very watery, not so much creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Oh what a failure! Much too watery and underdone! The seasoning proportions are too much also... I saw that right away and just put what I thought was best. Had to drain dish and continue cooking to salvage the ingredients. I am new to this site and have only tried a few recipes (others were successful) and I have learned a valuable lesson-- read the reviews BEFORE attempting a recipe. This recipe is so bad and has to be doctored so much to be usable, it should be pulled from this site! Sure hope I am not invited to any of Miss BonnieB's impromptu dinner parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I'm sorry to say, this recipe is bad. To better it, try par-boiling the potatoes slices first. This will make the bake time still 1 and 1/2 hours. Then half the buttermilk. 5 TABLESPOONS of salt is ridiculous, so is the 3 TABLESPOONS of pepper (Use your own discretion). The cheese amount is right. Though the time is a lot more than originally said, it will turn out a lot better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States