Easy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
When this recipe finally got done, it was good. However, it needs a little tweeking. First, use teaspoons not tablespoons of salt and pepper. I used only three tsp of each because the cheese is salty. Next, it might be best to par-boil the potatoes first. I used a madolin and sliced the potatoes very thin, but it still took over an hour to cook. Next, raise the temp. about half way through to about 400deg. to get the mixture to bubble to help cook the potatoes. Also, I added a few slices of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Do not try this recipe. Curdled buttermilk, uncooked potatoes after more than 90 minutes in oven AND 20 minutes in microwave. Terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I really liked these potatoes. However I made them for a party of 40 so they took forever to cook. Also they were really salty and almost bitter. I would suggest a different type of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabi Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Uuuck! Super disgusting! Way too much salt and pepper! They might be good if you just used a teaspoon of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Seriously the worst I have ever made. Too watery, Too hard, as in undercooked, too Salty, Too Peppery, and I like hot stuff. This was by far the worst excuse for potatoes I've ever experienced. Other recipes from you guys have been great, but you should seriuosly consider removing this, because if you don't read the reviews you can't imagine what you are in for...take-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
should have read the reviews before I made this.. After 1 1/2 of cooking it was still not done and I sliced the potatos paper thin, the cheese was burned, the buttermilk was clumpy and the whole dish was watery..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I'm so sorry, I hate to give poor reviews, but these were not good at all. They were oily, salty and under cooked. I did try an excellent recipe on this site called Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes submitted by Cathy Martin which was great! I'd suggest to try that one instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
i don't even want to give this recipe any stars. i'm on my way to a memorial day barbeque with nothing to bring because this recipe was so awful. clearly i did not read any of the reviews for it before hand and now i wish that i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
this recipes was awful. the potatoes never cooked and the sauce was oily and very salty. I should have read the reviews before making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Add another one to the list of "I should have read the reviews first before making this!" I was planning a very special dinner for my boyfriend which unfortunately included these so called Au Gratin Potatoes. Needless to say the night turned out pretty bad because I was so embarrassed that I couldn't get these potatoes cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States