Easy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I wish I read reviews before wasting all this food. Learned a valuable lesson. Read futher before cooking.This recipe should recieve minus stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I followed this recipe EXACTLY, and it was a total disaster -- it was greasy and runny and the potatoes were not cooked. I ended up cooking the dish for an additional HOUR, and it still wasn't good. I will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I wish I would have read the reviews before I made them. The buttermilk curdled and the potatoes for some reason wouldn't cook and stayed too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Like so many before me have stated...I wish I would've read the reviews before making this recipe. I sprinkled each layer with salt and pepper rather than using the 5 T and used 3 c buttermilk instead of 4 so it was not overly salty or too watery. However, the texture was not creamy, but curdled. It was far too sour and the cooking time exceeded one hour and 15 min, despite the fact I increased the temperature to 425 degrees after 45 minutes. The potatoes were even sliced paper thin with a mandolin. I STRONGLY do not recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipes was not good at all. It took over 1hr 20min to cook and it was very watery and did not taste very good, like sour milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Way to salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
We made this and noticed that they turned out way salty. We are wondering if the 5 tablespoons of kosher salt should actually be 5 teaspoons. It turned out too salty to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe does not word as written. There is no thickener for the sauce, and the potatoes do not cook within the cooking time indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
When this recipe finally got done, it was good. However, it needs a little tweeking. First, use teaspoons not tablespoons of salt and pepper. I used only three tsp of each because the cheese is salty. Next, it might be best to par-boil the potatoes first. I used a madolin and sliced the potatoes very thin, but it still took over an hour to cook. Next, raise the temp. about half way through to about 400deg. to get the mixture to bubble to help cook the potatoes. Also, I added a few slices of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States