Easy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The buttermilk curdled, the potatoes weren't CLOSE to being done, and it was WAY too much liquid as well as being super oily. All Recipes should remove this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamorris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
The buttermilk curtled and the cheese inside didn't really melt. It was so liquid-y that I had to recheck the recipe to make sure I didn't make a mistake. I wish I had read the reviews but I was looking for something quick and went with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I got an enormous puddle of olive oil goo and the potatoes were still raw. Way too much salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Cooked for over an hour and the potatoes were still not tender at 375 degrees. I, thankfully, did not add a lot of the salt. The buttermilk did curdle as others have stated. I, too, am sorry that I did not read reviews first otherwise I would have tried a different recipe. The flavor was good but the sauce did not stick to the potatoes. Maybe they were not starchy enough for the dish. Will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Oh my goodness, why didn't I read the reviews before trying this recipe. I should have known better than try a new recipe before the church social. Just like the other reviews said, it was too salty, watery and undercooked~~even after cooking it for longer than was stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This recipe was not to my liking. The gravy isn't creamy at all. Extremely salty even though i used only a pinch. 35 mins isn't enough cooking time for this recipe. Even though, I cut the potatoes paper thin. I mean seriously Yukon Gold potatoes aren't cheap. Talk about a waste of time and money!! It's 9pm on a Friday night,and I have to figure out what to cook. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
The measurements are incorrect in this recipe. I believe the person posting this might have meant 5 teaspoons of salt and 3 teaspoons of pepper. There is also too much liquid, and too little baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Runny. 5 Tbs salt??? ughhh. I knew better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I read the recipe and noticed that the salt and pepper measurements seemed incorrect. But I'll cut that down when I try the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this recipe because I didnt want to bother with making a milk/cheese mixture on the stove. I used smaller amounts of salt, just estimated to taste, and it was fine. I did use the olive oil on the bottom of the pan but did not have an issue with it coming out greasy. I also used pepperjack cheese for a kick. I did not have buttermilk so I used 2 percent. I also know that potatoes take forever to bake so I cooked it 30 minutes, stirred in some flour because it was a little soupy, and cooked for another 30 minutes. It turned out ok, but not impressed. I will eat the leftovers, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States