Easy Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Loved this. I left out the cracker crumbs, did not see a need for it. I used a little chicken broth and just a spray of olive oil to cut down the fat as much as possible. The red onion in the recipe was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I have never made asparagus before, but had a taste for it, picked some up on the way home and found this recipe. I had all most of the ingredients at home already and it was really very good. Of course every cook add their own touch. I cut the stalks in half and then cut them again to open them up lengthwise. I used a white onion, (that was what I had on hand) and instead of a white wine, I had to use this delicious garlic vinaigrette - It was delicious. If you like your asparagus more tender than crunchy, like me, reduce the heat some and cover it. I shook the asparagus around frequently in the skillet with the lid on to make sure the seasoning were coating well. I added a bit more seasoning in the cooking process, salt, pepper and lemon pepper. Turned out great! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I think this is the tastiest asparagus I've ever had! I really enjoyed it. It was so good. I don't use wine so I used a mix of balsamic vinegar and apple juice. Sounds wierd, but it was really yummy. The parmesan cheese went so well with the carmelized onions. I omitted the crackers, I think that would have taken away from this dish. Served with lemon/garlic roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very simple side dish to make; it really only takes 20 minutes! I recommend using 1/2 to 3/4 recommended amount of oil (otherwise the dish is too oily). The browned onions are very tasty! And parmesan cheese makes the dish delish. :) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
i also omitted the crackers and it was excellent. i enjoy a "softer" stalk so i left on a little longer. great combination of carmelized onions and asparagus. this is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Very good! I've made it exactly like it said and I've also skipped the crackers and wine and it's still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was the easiset way I've ever tried for asparagus. The asparagus came out tender and the addition of the red onion was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Quick and tasty. I didn't have any wine on hand so I used chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Good way to prepare asparagus. I didn't have lemon pepper so I used fresh lemon juice. I too omitted the whole wheat crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Everyone loved this dish! I doubled the recipe and had no left overs. I didn't have crackers so I used French's Fried Onioins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States