Easy Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is good. I used lemon juice in place of lemon pepper, because too much pepper can ruin anything, even asparagus! You can also add a bit of butter to give the drippings more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HalfBaked

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
The asparagus was good, but I always have problems when the instructions tell you to cook the onion, garlic etc. first. I love my asparagus very tender and this takes time - more time than the onion and garlic need. I would also use a flavored oil or a bit of butter. The purple onion was a great touch. Again, this dish was good, but it could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I have never made asparagus before, but had a taste for it, picked some up on the way home and found this recipe. I had all most of the ingredients at home already and it was really very good. Of course every cook add their own touch. I cut the stalks in half and then cut them again to open them up lengthwise. I used a white onion, (that was what I had on hand) and instead of a white wine, I had to use this delicious garlic vinaigrette - It was delicious. If you like your asparagus more tender than crunchy, like me, reduce the heat some and cover it. I shook the asparagus around frequently in the skillet with the lid on to make sure the seasoning were coating well. I added a bit more seasoning in the cooking process, salt, pepper and lemon pepper. Turned out great! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Very tasty and easy way of making asparagus. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
i also omitted the crackers and it was excellent. i enjoy a "softer" stalk so i left on a little longer. great combination of carmelized onions and asparagus. this is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Everyone loved this dish! I doubled the recipe and had no left overs. I didn't have crackers so I used French's Fried Onioins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very simple side dish to make; it really only takes 20 minutes! I recommend using 1/2 to 3/4 recommended amount of oil (otherwise the dish is too oily). The browned onions are very tasty! And parmesan cheese makes the dish delish. :) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
first time i have cooked fresh asparagus and it was mmmm mmmm good i got tons of compliments i will be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I found that I didn't have any moisture left at the end and might try blanching the asparagus for a few seconds before frying it next time. I omitted the crackers and they were not missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Very good! Quick and easy with ingredients I have on hand. Thanks for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

This easy technique makes asparagus tangy and savory. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States