Easy Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Loved this. I left out the cracker crumbs, did not see a need for it. I used a little chicken broth and just a spray of olive oil to cut down the fat as much as possible. The red onion in the recipe was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I have never made asparagus before, but had a taste for it, picked some up on the way home and found this recipe. I had all most of the ingredients at home already and it was really very good. Of course every cook add their own touch. I cut the stalks in half and then cut them again to open them up lengthwise. I used a white onion, (that was what I had on hand) and instead of a white wine, I had to use this delicious garlic vinaigrette - It was delicious. If you like your asparagus more tender than crunchy, like me, reduce the heat some and cover it. I shook the asparagus around frequently in the skillet with the lid on to make sure the seasoning were coating well. I added a bit more seasoning in the cooking process, salt, pepper and lemon pepper. Turned out great! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I think this is the tastiest asparagus I've ever had! I really enjoyed it. It was so good. I don't use wine so I used a mix of balsamic vinegar and apple juice. Sounds wierd, but it was really yummy. The parmesan cheese went so well with the carmelized onions. I omitted the crackers, I think that would have taken away from this dish. Served with lemon/garlic roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very simple side dish to make; it really only takes 20 minutes! I recommend using 1/2 to 3/4 recommended amount of oil (otherwise the dish is too oily). The browned onions are very tasty! And parmesan cheese makes the dish delish. :) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
i also omitted the crackers and it was excellent. i enjoy a "softer" stalk so i left on a little longer. great combination of carmelized onions and asparagus. this is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Very good! I've made it exactly like it said and I've also skipped the crackers and wine and it's still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was the easiset way I've ever tried for asparagus. The asparagus came out tender and the addition of the red onion was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Quick and tasty. I didn't have any wine on hand so I used chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Good way to prepare asparagus. I didn't have lemon pepper so I used fresh lemon juice. I too omitted the whole wheat crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Everyone loved this dish! I doubled the recipe and had no left overs. I didn't have crackers so I used French's Fried Onioins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

This easy technique makes asparagus tangy and savory. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States