Easy Asian Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
OK, here's the scoop. My SIL is Phillipino and when she or we make her egg roll recipe, all we use to dip them in is vinegar. We love it which is the reason I'm rating this a five. So, for eggrolls, this recipe is perfect for us. However, tonight I made this for Asian Lettuce Wraps and I have to agree with Matt in that there was too much vinegar for what we were using it for. I only used a tablespoon and it was perfect. I also subbed Hoisin Sauce for the honey. Thank you Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I hate to say this about someone's recipe but this was absolutely horrible! I made to go along with "Asian Lettuce Wraps" and after tasting it I threw it away before it even got to the table and made "Oriental Dipping Sauce" from this site instead which was great! This had WAY too much rice vinegar it just did not taste good at all to me way too overpowering. Sorry for the terrible review but I've got to be honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this sauce for some chinese dumplings and it was a great compliment. Looking back over the comments, I agree that it was probably a little too much vinegar. Other than that, though, I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
IN a pinch i whipped up this sauce, it is VERY EASY and simple and good!!!! it was great for my stir fried veggies and udon noodles, had everything on hand so cannot beat that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yum! I didn't find the vinegar at all overpowering, unlike some other reviewers. It all worked very well together. Served as a dipping sauce for Edamame-Stuffed Wontons from this site. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs_LJ
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I did not have any sesame seeds or sesame oil, but I think it was fine without them. We dipped traditional pot stickers from this website in the sauce and I was pretty impressed with the authenticity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_LJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Very tasty and really easy! What's not to like? We used it with steamed pork buns and potstickers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was really good! I followed the recipe and added about a cup of packed brown sugar to cut the vinegar. I didn't have fresh ginger but powdered tasted great. I spooned it over a stir-fry, asian pork, and jasmine rice and it was awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This wasn't bad, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is really good! I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used ground instead (I think fresh would have been better). I also added some red pepper flakes. This sauce is GREAT with pot stickers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States