Easy Arroz con Gandules Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Too Mushy. 6 Cups of water plus the juice of the tomato sauce and canned peas is too much fluid for this recipe. Change brown rice to white rice...Add 4 cups of white rice instead, no tomato sauce, the two cans of the pigeon peas WITH the liquid...add just enough liquid to cover the rice....cook until it starts creating craters. I add whole spanish olives to this recipe and spice it up a little more with the Goya seasonings and cumin....it always turns out delicious and perfect on the fork! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
My rice came out so mushy that it was inedible. I'm a good cook, I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMEN464

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
OKay, I tried this recipe and it came out mushy. I did exactly what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
There is too much water on this recipe. For 3 cups of rice. I would use 4.5 cups of water. To make the crispy rice or "pegao" do the following, at the point were you stir to mix the rice and water etc, cook on medium without covering and without stirring until almost all the water is absorbed, then "turn" the rice so the rice on the bottom is on top and the top is on the bottom, be careful not to scrape the bottom layer of rice. Cover with a tight fitting lid on low for about 20-30 minutes or until tender. Also you need to use a "caldero", if you use a non-stick pan, you won't get it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very good... but it makes a difference what type of rice you use... long or medium grain.. brown or white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I loved this! But how do you get that "sticky" crispy well done rice that is suppose to be stuck to the bottom of the pan?? I remember it growing up and that was the best part! Does anyone know? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I work at a school with a predominantly hispanic population and during a class party a student brought this in. This recipe tastes exactly like it! Although I cheated and added cooked rice at the end, stir frying it instead of letting it simmer. Saves so much time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Omg Soooo good. I've tasted traditional Arroz con gandules, and this taste just like it. Will deffinitly make again. everyone in my fam loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
My neighbor makes this and it is great!! Now I don't have to beg her to make it for me...the best thing about it- to make it soo good is the pigeon peas and spiceier peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This recipe is far from our "Traditional Arroz Con Gandules".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy A.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States