Easy Arroz con Gandules Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Loved it. I added some smoked cooking ham to the seasoning mix while cooking the sofrito. I also used Goya's Green Pigeon Peas with Coconut Milk (don't worry, it only changes the consistency of the dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgetfulmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was okay if you don't know what arroz con gandules is supposed to taste like. You must add spanish olives-3/4 Cup and capers-2 TBS, more garlic, and fry your sofrito in achiote oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
The rice was okay for me. I also agree with other reviews that there is to much liquid as the rice was to sticky. Next time I will try reducing the amount of water and adding more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
awesome recipe. so much flavor. I added 2 packets of the spanish seasoning. also cooked rice separetely and left on the side. pour beans over rice when serving. thats how my husbands family always does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Nyack, New York, USA
Living In: Nanuet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is absolutely delicious. The only change I made was to drain the pigeon peas. Oh yes and only cooked it for 30 min. Now that the soffrito is made and frozen it will be a simple recipe for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aielena
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe is missing one very important ingredient.. salt! Being Puerto-Rican myself, arroz con gandules without salt is unheard of. Which is probably why some of you said it came out bland. I would add a teaspoon. Also, two cans of peas is a lot, I would do just one. Extra garlic, and an extra packet of Goya's Sazon seasoning is my secret. I also use the fluid from the drained peas as part of the water (reduce water accordingly). Que rico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I'm Puerto Rican and the traditional arroz con gandules is with white rice not brown!also arroz con gandules you can add 1 can of coconut milk and you going to love it! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I used home made soffrito and Goya Culantro y achote (spanish season packet), then the last 5 items. Use white rice and drain the liquid off of the peas. That's for those who had too much water/liquid. You made need to cut down the cooking time by 5-10 minutes. Be sure to watch your pot. Fairly good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Good,I modify this recipe adding one pound of pork chunks or pork chops. Just cook the meat and once ready in the same pot add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States