Easy Arroz con Gandules Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My Puerto Rican neighbor taught me how to prepare Arroz con Gandules from scratch, and I don't see one of the key ingredients, like the Achiote oil to give it a nice color to the rice. Also, one to remember too much liquid is not good, and the most important seasoning to add, is "SALT". Long grain white rice is best for this recipe. Not sure of using Brown Rice for this recipe, but I guess if it floats your boat, why not! Using a blender is a lazy-man way according to my neighbor, he advised me to really enjoy a true home cook meal is starting from scratch. He cooks on a open fire using dry Mesquite wood, all of his cooking equipment is made of cast-iron. I can attest to his Puerto Rican style of cooking is one of the best tasting prepared food! Also, his Pastele stew and banana wrapped Pastele is to die for! Oh! forgot to mention his Codfish salad is another one to add to his many Puerto Rican recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I'm a Puerto Rican living in the Midwest and loved this brown rice arroz con gandules. I didn't have tomato sauce so I substitute with 2 tbs of tomato paste. I also substitute the sofrito with home made sofrito with culantro and the olive oil for 6oz of salt cured pork. After cooking for 45 min I added Spanish olives with pimiento and olive oil. I stirred the rice, cover the pot and let it simmer for another 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is a good recipe. Needs more Sazon Goya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I really liked the way this recipe turned out. The only suggestion I have is maybe adjusting the amount of water used to cook. Luckily I held back some water judging by the looks of it. In doing so rice came out moist but not mushy as another reviewer had commented. I copped out and used an electric rice cooker. Still turned out tasty even without the pegado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Mine came out mushy too, but I put it in the oven on low heat for an hour and that helped a lot. Also, it definitely needed salt. I thought about it as I was putting it in the oven. It would have been a whole lot better if I had put the salt in while it was cooking on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was very tasty but its still not like mom 's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
First of all Arroz con gandules is made with white rice. You can make it with brown rice but it will then not be considered by anyone to be authenthic in taste. Salt is a must. Spanish olives are usually expected. Sofrito is always made with culantro (recao) and ajies dulces. Without the culantro you will not get that authentic taste you are looking for. If you like you can add a combination of any of the following: spanish ham, salted pork fat (tozino), chorizo. Aluminum foil is not needed if you have a decent pot ( I don't know anyone who uses it). How much water depends on your pot and the type of rice you use (long grain, medium grain, etc). I use long grain and one cup of water per one cup of rice. This is what works well for my pot. The rice should not be mushy or over-cooked. I always rinse my rice to remove the extra starch before I cook it. You will be surprise what a difference that makes. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
way too mushy! it did have a good flavor though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Loved it. I added some smoked cooking ham to the seasoning mix while cooking the sofrito. I also used Goya's Green Pigeon Peas with Coconut Milk (don't worry, it only changes the consistency of the dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgetfulmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States