Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was definitely easy, once the apples were peeled and sliced. However, it seems that most of the sweet juice ran out of the pockets, leaving the remaining strudel to be kind of dry and pasty. Maybe I didn't seal up the pastry well enough? It was definitely better warm and fresh vs leftover. I don't know if I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
We like to make this for an apple dessert that's a ton quicker than apple pie. Really easy! However, I prefer to cook the apple filling in a saute pan on top of the stove till slightly softened before putting in the pastry to end up with a more done result without overbrowning the pastry. And definitely add some cinnamon to the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Loved this! True to it's name...EASY! Only changes: Used 3 Granny Smith apples & added a few drops of lemon juice, 1/2C of pecans (no raisins) and sugared the pastry before adding the apples. Brushed pastry after it was rolled with melted butter and then sugar. Seems like a lot of sugar but the apples I used were pretty tart and needed it. (And we aren't hugh sweet eaters.) Mine have cooked in about 12-15 min...maybe it's just my oven, but I would watch to make sure not to burn bottoms. VERY, VERY GOOD & EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
really easy and delicious! i added a dash of cinnamon too. also, replaced the one cup brown sugar with 2 tbsp of it. it's not so sweet. will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Excellent, basic recipe. i did make a bunch of changes after reading reviews. i cut 3 small apples and 2 nectarines. sliced them all in a bowl with sugar. (whole amount) a cinimon stick. pinch of nutmag and all spice. i let it sit in the bowl after mixing for about 3 hours. all the juice ran to the bottom. i then emptied the juice into another bowl. mix up fruit with a little bit of juice and some flour. This makes the recipe not so runny. i brushed it with milk and poked some holes on the top. made 2 strudel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very EZ to put together and lots of compliments. Guests said "Better than apple pie!" Served warm with vanilla ice cream. Only used 1/3 cup sugar (subbed a couple delicious apples in place of granny smith) and added a sprinkle of cinnamon and a little melted butter. Only used 1/4 cup regular raisins. Can't imagine using a full cup of sugar AND that many raisins - would've been way too sweet. Also didn't want to waste an egg for the wash so I just sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar on top after baking. Made a few slashes on top to vent before baking and covered my cookie sheet with no-stick foil. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
this was easy as anything! I was a bit worried when the brown sugar just disolved & turned juicy in the apples & then oozed out the strudel but it went quite caramely in the oven & tasted good stuck to the bottom of the pastry. Tasted great & just as good cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
VERY GOOD. sooooooo easy!!! I will make again. Good quick desert for a get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
A bit messy, but worth it. Adding a little cinnamon also gives the recipie a little spice to counter the sweetness of the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Thanks, Jess - this was very easy to make - and so good! I made it (with a couple of modifications) for an Oktoberfest dinner we hosted. I left out the raisins and drizzled honey over the top of the apples before sealing up the pastry. We served it warm with ice cream. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States