Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
USE 2-3 TABLESPOONS OF FLOUR in the apple/sugar mixture. It will make the juice inside the strudel thicker. Make sure to coat all the apples and raisins with the flour. VERY GOOD otherwise, great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Sooo Yummy! It is even easier to make it with Cherry Pie filling. One can will do it. I make this often for Sunday Breakfast & the plate is always licked clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jurate
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
After reading other reviews I made the following changes: cooked apples before placing them on the dough. Added only 1/3 cup of sugar - and it was plenty sweet for us. Added some cinnamon and sprinkled some almonds on the top. Cooking time was 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very easy, very yummy. Set the smoke alarm off twice though when the liquid spilled out and caramelised then starting smoking on the tray. Note to self: seal the ends next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made this w/my son for a project he did on Austria to take in to his class (and one to have at home). It was delicious! We each made our own bowl. He made his w/less raisins because the kids at school don't like them but I followed the recipe. I have to admit, although I adore raisins, the recipe calls for too many and it was actually better w/fewer. I'll use less next time. Also, we did add a little cinnamon per others suggestions. I think this recipe needs it. W/those two changes I rated it 5 stars. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Yum, yum! I used two phyllo sheets instead and made one serving using one thinly sliced and peeled pink lady apple, a little brown sugar, little turbinado sugar, a dash of cinnamon and about 5 crumbled pecans. I cooked it for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was wonderful! Quick and easy. I made this for dessert after a traditional German holiday meal of roast goose and red cabbage. My husband loved it. The only thing I added was an icing of powdered sugar mixed with a little water before serving. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I am English so I used Bramley cooking apples with a sprinkling of sugar and cinamon as they are sharp. They are also more juicy and produced more liquid, but it turned out fine. The bottom of the pastry sort of caramalised. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is easy and absolutely delicious! One of the things I really loved is that since you cook the apples before placing in the pastry, you don't get that mile high pastry empty hole effect! The pastry is full of tasty apples and cinnamon. We just loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
The base recipe is a good idea but it needs tweaking. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, vanilla extract, and walnuts. I also used phyllo dough sheets instead of puff pastry (personal preference), but I imagine it would also taste delicious with puff pastry. I drizzled slices of strudel with maple syrup as a final touch. Took this to a party and I got rave reviews, so will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States