Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Did not find this easy to make at all. I bake and follow recipes with ease. I found there was too much filling for the pastry - eventhough I rolled it larger than it came. Used Pepperidge Farm pastry sheets - maybe the wrong brand. This was for a school project for my son- luckily he gets graded on the effort - not the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm not much of a baker (especially pies and other things that use a crust) but I loved this recipe. I used puff pastry for the first time and found it very forgiving. I added a little cinnamon and three pats of butter on the top of the apple mixture. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
love this! added a little vanilla & cinnamon to the apples, a bit of lemon juice to prevent browning & used brown sugar splenda. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Spiked it with a tablespoon of whiskey, omitted the raisins and used a handful of fresh blueberries instead. Also, I omitted the egg/milk wash. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori Thier

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I have done this recipe a few times and always with good results, I change nothing about the recipe. I did have some left over filling, so I think it depends on the size of your apples. I used my own puff pastry and next time will either use larger sheet or less apples and raisins to accommodate the puff pastry sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very simple to make and everyone enjoyed it. There was way to much filling for the amount of pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a tasty recipe, but not real easy to work with....at least not easy to keep it looking nice, neat and pretty. Be very careful not to "overfill" if you are concerned about how it will look. Still tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My first attempt at strudel and will do again. Added 3/4 tsp of cinnamon. Mine was stuck to the bottom of the pan (glass pan lined with foil). next time I will assemble and pop it in the oven while the dough is still cold. I would cut back on the sugar...maybe to 3/4 cup. I also had a lot of liquid. Maybe 2 tbsp of flour tossed in the apple mix is needed (like pie filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I loved this! Actually, my whole family loved this. I had two hours to make a dessert...it was so easy...and tasted wonderful. I soaked the raisins in hot water and vanilla...and, I also added chopped walnuts, lemon juice, and lemon peel...since my apples were not intensely tart. But, I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar...and 1/2 of shortbread cookie crumbs. This did require both sheets of puff pastry, with the stuffing between...and the sliced top layer allowed all the steam out, and kept the dough flaky and crisp. I sprayed the top with a butter spray...perfect color...but it did take 40 minutes to bake at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
First time I made this. Had lots of Granny Smiths to use up so made two. Dough a little frozen still but able to faltten enough. Used Stevia in place of sugar. No raisins, no nuts and allspice 1/2 tsp. Put in about 2 large apples on each sliced thinly. Used some of the egg mixture to seal the center fold and ends as well as brushing the tops. Forgot to slit the tops. Still they came out great at 375 for 40 minutes. Quite brown on top. Sprinke powdered sugar and served w/ fresh cream whipped cream. Trial run for hilodays. Not a cinnamon lover but may add a loittle next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ukcountess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States