Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
love this! added a little vanilla & cinnamon to the apples, a bit of lemon juice to prevent browning & used brown sugar splenda. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Spiked it with a tablespoon of whiskey, omitted the raisins and used a handful of fresh blueberries instead. Also, I omitted the egg/milk wash. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I have done this recipe a few times and always with good results, I change nothing about the recipe. I did have some left over filling, so I think it depends on the size of your apples. I used my own puff pastry and next time will either use larger sheet or less apples and raisins to accommodate the puff pastry sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very simple to make and everyone enjoyed it. There was way to much filling for the amount of pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a tasty recipe, but not real easy to work with....at least not easy to keep it looking nice, neat and pretty. Be very careful not to "overfill" if you are concerned about how it will look. Still tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My first attempt at strudel and will do again. Added 3/4 tsp of cinnamon. Mine was stuck to the bottom of the pan (glass pan lined with foil). next time I will assemble and pop it in the oven while the dough is still cold. I would cut back on the sugar...maybe to 3/4 cup. I also had a lot of liquid. Maybe 2 tbsp of flour tossed in the apple mix is needed (like pie filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I loved this! Actually, my whole family loved this. I had two hours to make a dessert...it was so easy...and tasted wonderful. I soaked the raisins in hot water and vanilla...and, I also added chopped walnuts, lemon juice, and lemon peel...since my apples were not intensely tart. But, I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar...and 1/2 of shortbread cookie crumbs. This did require both sheets of puff pastry, with the stuffing between...and the sliced top layer allowed all the steam out, and kept the dough flaky and crisp. I sprayed the top with a butter spray...perfect color...but it did take 40 minutes to bake at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
First time I made this. Had lots of Granny Smiths to use up so made two. Dough a little frozen still but able to faltten enough. Used Stevia in place of sugar. No raisins, no nuts and allspice 1/2 tsp. Put in about 2 large apples on each sliced thinly. Used some of the egg mixture to seal the center fold and ends as well as brushing the tops. Forgot to slit the tops. Still they came out great at 375 for 40 minutes. Quite brown on top. Sprinke powdered sugar and served w/ fresh cream whipped cream. Trial run for hilodays. Not a cinnamon lover but may add a loittle next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ukcountess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Oh my gosh, this apple strudel is AWESOME! I was craving apple strudel the other day and always thought making it was complicated, so I searched for "easy apple strudel." :-) This was ridiculously easy (I even did it while my 1-year-old was still awake, which is a slight miracle) and I loved how it turned out so much I made it again last night! I actually was able to split up the filling and put it in two puff pastries because there was so much. I used half a cup brown sugar, which was plenty, and used Pepperidge Farms puff pastries. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissamcf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was a great addition to the mini-Oktoberfest we had for some neighbors - bratwurst, German potato salad, beer, and apple strudel. What's not to like?!!! Here is how I modified the recipe for our taste: 3 apples, 1/2C raisins, 2/3C brown sugar, 1t cinnamon, 2T Minute Tapioca. I used the puff pastry, egg, and 1/4C milk as listed, but added sliced almonds on top as others suggested. I also took the suggestion of cooking the apples, brown sugar, cinnamon, and tapioca in a sauce pan for 15 minutes on medium heat. Baking time was only 25 minutes in the oven. Three apples makes enough for 2 strudels. When they came out of the oven and cooled a little, I sprinkled them with powdered sugar. Simply delicious for dessert or breakfast. I received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States