Easy Apple Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Love it! Tastes amazing! But, just as a side note, if you're a beginner at canning, apples don't set the same way strawberry or other jams set. It won't be solid, even after the cans seal themselves. Apples have too much acid to set solidly. I learned that from my sister-in-law after I questioned her about the texture of this jam. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This was a very easy and flavorful recipe!! I used strawberries instead of apples. I also used my food processor to chop the fruit (I don't like big pieces). I simmered the fruit with only 1 1/2 cups of sugar for about 1 hour instead of 20 minutes. The end result turned out great. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was truly good. I tweaked this a bit as I used 4 cups rhubarb and 2 cups apples and it was lovely. yum. It made about 6 cups so only about 4 jars of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
YUM! I was a little hesitant at first but this recipe is amazing! I followed the recipe to a tee - until I got to the pectin part. I decided it was thick enough for me without the added pectin so I left it out. Fabulous! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Yummmy! Tasted like apple pie! I boiled the fruit, water, and sugar for about 15 minutes...the final product ended up a little thick so I'd recommend making sure the fruit is soft enough before you can it. Don't forget the cinnamon- it adds a wonderful kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
DELICIOUS! But not as expected. Very apple-y!! Also had to run it through a food mill at the end, as the apples did not entirely cook down enough. There were some awkwardly large chunks I wanted to squish in there. I would go as far as 4c. rhubarb - 2c. apples or even 5 to 1 for a stronger rhubarb flavor! Rather sweet; even with granny smith apples to go with the rhubarb. Tastes like an apple pie jam, really. Will take it into account for next time! (Also: after waiting the full 20 minutes hoping the apples would finish cooking down, it had cooked to about half the expected amount! I have three sadly empty half-pint jars left, lonely on the counter. Will need to find something else to fill them with. :D )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This jam is amazing! I used a bag of frozen rhubarb and it was perfect. Everyone who tries this raves about it! Thank you Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gskatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
What an awesome recipe! I used my food processor for my fruit there for i only had to boil it for about 10 mins. I will definately make this again, it tastes like apple pie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This Jam reminds me of my absolute favorite pie in the world, apple rhubarb. So easy to make and just the right amount of sweet tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yummy. Just like others have said, it's a little like apple butter but with a more tartness. I used 3 cups of rhubarb and 2 cups apples and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States