Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Easy and great tasting. I varied by using about 9 apples; 3/4 cup of apple juice; yellow butter cake mix; a little nutmeg and I substituted splenda brown sugar equal to 1/2+ cup of brown sugar. I also used about 1/2 cup of uncooked oats. I mixed in about 1/3 of the mix in the pan with the apples and then used the rest for the top. Baked for 45 minutes. It looked done, but the top was not crispy, so I browned under the broiler (watch that it doesn't burn) for about 90-120 seconds. I am certain variations will taste just as good. Next time maybe some cut up strawberries or craisins or chopped walnuts - whatever is around. Great for the family or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Wow, yummy! I had Granny Smith apples so I used the full amount liquid (they tend to need more because they're so firm) - but at the suggestion of other reviews, I did exchange the water for spiced apple cider. I also cut the brown sugar in half as suggested and added about a 1/2 cup of oatmeal to the topping for texture. Unfortunately I had no vanilla ice cream on hand, but that would have made this divine dessert absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCrowston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
So easy and so yummy! Served it warm with vanilla ice cream -- big hit with everyone! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Easy is right! I make this multiple times a year and is usually my go-to recipe when I need to bring a dessert somewhere. I've used the white cake mix, yellow, strawberry, and even funfetti (though someone asked if it was moldy when I had just made it that day... they ate it anyway and loved it.) Make sure you use butter. I tried making this once for a lactose-intolerant friend of mine and it just wasn't the same. The dry mixture didn't get crumbly the same way when mixing, more formed a paste. We try to use a combination of cortland and braeburn apples for this recipe if we can find them at our local country store, and I reduce the water to 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Tasted great, but topping was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is so good. I also use this same recipe with peaches. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking(4)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Simple, delicious and quick dessert! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very very good! I used cortland apples and used only a quarter of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States