Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Easy is right! I make this multiple times a year and is usually my go-to recipe when I need to bring a dessert somewhere. I've used the white cake mix, yellow, strawberry, and even funfetti (though someone asked if it was moldy when I had just made it that day... they ate it anyway and loved it.) Make sure you use butter. I tried making this once for a lactose-intolerant friend of mine and it just wasn't the same. The dry mixture didn't get crumbly the same way when mixing, more formed a paste. We try to use a combination of cortland and braeburn apples for this recipe if we can find them at our local country store, and I reduce the water to 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Tasted great, but topping was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is so good. I also use this same recipe with peaches. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking(4)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Simple, delicious and quick dessert! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very very good! I used cortland apples and used only a quarter of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I loved this and how easy it was. I halfed the recipe just so I didn't eat too much, used spice cake (like one of the other reviews mentioned), put 2 tablespoons brown sugar directly on the apples, cut the water some and added grape-nuts cereal and oatmeal for extra crunch. LOVE LOVE LOVE...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Excellent! Followed a few suggestions: used the spiced cake mix w 2 pkgs of plain breakfast oatmeal, apple cider instead of water dash of nutmeg. Added the 4 TBL of caramel sauce too. Nice crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe. very easy to make. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Now I know why New Englanders need cheddar cheese with their apple pie and crisp. This was SOOO sweet. Next time I'll put in only 1/4 cup of brown sugar, especially since the cake mix already has sugar in it. I also added 1/2 cup of oats and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States