Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Made it for the office and my colleagues loved it. Only thing is 1 cup of water is way too much, trust me 1/4 cup would have been more than enough, was way too watery and ended up pouring some liquid out (too runny). Other than that it was a great crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very good recipe. We used the canned apples (because we had them). So really I just used the recipe for the crisp on top. It turned out really goo. My family loved it. Very rich topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suchislife32

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Actually, I was mostly looking for a recipe for the crumbly topping the use with my mom's home canned spiced pears. This recipe worked great! I served it hot, ala mode, with caramel topping. This recipe offered the crunch I was looking for; Perfecto!! Mom was very happy she loved it! especially since I used her special reserves, and added all her favorite flavors. huasonshine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I have made other crisps and this one has all that I was looking for. I made changes as others mentioned. Adding oats, less water, less sugar etc... Everyone loved it and raved over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Good, but a little too sweet for our taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I didn't read all the reviews and the suggestions would have helped a lot - tasted good, but needed something more. I used spice cake mix , added oats to the mixture and added dried cranberries and raisins to the apples. I think I should have pressed it into to the apples more and it would have been chewier - it needed more liquid (or something) on top! PS - When mixed all together it tasted great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Fantastic twist on the dump cake! I used 1/4 cup of orange juice in with the water(I was out of lemon juice so I got creative) mixed with some cinnamon and nutmeg tossed with the cut apples. I cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and added a generous splash of oats to the topping. My kids hate everything, but THIS they will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This has to be the best apple dessert I have ever made! I made some slight changes because of personal taste...I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup based on prior reviews and that was borderline to sweet for me but hey it is a dessert after-all. I took 1/4 cup of the brown sugar listed and tossed that in with the apples, water, a little vanilla, a little extra cinnamon, nutmeg and then topped it with the cake mix mixed with the remainder 1/4 cup of sugar and cinnamon mixed along with the butter and 3/4 cup of cinnamon ( unsweetened) oats. I had to bake mine quite a bit longer ( 30 extra minutes) until it turned golden brown but it was well worth it! It DOES look soupy when it comes out but thickens upon standing. I have used white, yellow and funfetti ( looked weird tasted great) cake mixes and they were all good. Next up I am going to try Spice Cake Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
By far the easiest crisp recipe I have used. I did tweak it just a bit though. I used more apples (enough to fill the 9x13 pan, and I had smaller apples), apple cider instead of water because I had it on hand, threw in a bag of baking caramel bits, and added some oatmeal to the topping. Super delicious, this will be my go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is the easiest most tasty apple crisp I've ever made! I did add a cup of oats to the cake mix as some of the other reviewers suggested. I can't imagine making any other apple crisp again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States