Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I'm not going to rate is since I did not make it true to the recipe. I also used oats in the mix and added nutmeg, only b/c I had it in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was incredible! My parents raved about it when I brought it for dessert the other night. I made some changes as others had suggested. I used 8 small to medium empire apples, used 3/4 cup water with 3 tbsp. lemon juice and 1 tbsp. vanilla flavoring added. Also I used a yellow cake mix with pudding and added 1/2 c. quick oats to the cake mix. I also sprinkled cinnamon, nutmeg and about 1/4 c. sugar over apples in the pan. Used 1/2c. butter plus 3 tbsp. and it came out awesome. Thanks for the great recipe. My Mom is begging me for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was delicious and very easy. I threw in an extra couple of apples just because I was trying to use them up and it turned out great. Everyone loved it, especially served with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good! I used 4 granny smith and 3 gala apples which I tossed in lemon water. Used sugar free cake mix, sugar substitute (WheyLow Gold), but only used 3/4 cup, and served it with NSA vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I was very skeptical with the shortcut of cake mix. Have grown up on "from scratch" baking and apple crisp was always perfect. Tried this and my family absolutely loved it. I've always been one to favour alot of "crisp" and less apple, but this was too much crisp to apple ratio. Next time I'd double the apples and it would still be plenty sweet and crisp! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is so easy to make and fast! I cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and add 1 cup of rolled oats. 1 cup of brown sugar is too sweet for my families liking. I use this with apple and peach pie filling when I don't have time to core and peel apples. Omit the water and add 1-2 cans of pie filling and it works just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
EASY! Got tons of compliments on this recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KALBERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My teenage daughter made this for our Thanksgiving dessert, and it turned out wonderful! We added two packets of cinnamon brown sugar instant oatmeal on the top before baking and it was fantastic! Really easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandysGlassesRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
this was a very simple but delicious recipe. made it for thanksgiving. it is scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
The recipe as is didn't work for me.The 3 stars is as is.I would give it 4 with my alterations.I cut the sugar down to almost nine. I used over a cup of multigrain trader joe's oats in the topping.Less than half the sugar. I doubled the apples.I mixed it in with the cake mix and butter. I also had to cut the cake mix/oat toping through the crisp with a knife to mix it a bit once the apples below started cooking. Picture if you were making a marble cake. Other wise the butter itself is not enough to make the topping anymore than a powdery mess on top.I even added extra butter to compensate the oats.I only gave it 4 stars as it took forever to make with all the peeling and chopping and the cutting through I did. That being said my MOTHER IN LAW of 10 yrs asked for the recipe. First time ever!!!!!! YEAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 4 under 8

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States