Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
This recipe was so simple, yet so delicious! Some changes I recommend that other users may have also recommended: use 3/4 water instead, use only 3/4c brown sugar (it was a bit too sweet for my taste), use large green apples, bake for only 40-45 minutes, and add rolled oats to the cake mixture (i added about 1/2c). The rolled oats give the topping a crispier, yet mildly chewy consistency. Also, eating this a la mode with vanilla ice cream = HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I had to write a comment on this! I have made many an apple crisp, and this seems to take the cake as everyone's favorite! I gleaned from previous reviewers and this came out fabulously yummy! First, I used a "golden (or yellow) butter recipe" cake mix, and did mix it w/ 3/4 c. of oats. I used the amt. of butter the recipe called for. For the apple mixture, I sprinkled w/ nutmeg, cinnamon and a bit of allspice! With the water (about 1 C. I think), I added 4 T caramel ice cream topping and 1 egg. No added sugar. It wasn't too sweet and we even had it for a late, special breakfast (the kids are still talking about our "special breakfast!") Thanks for my new favorite! This is a great treat to bring to a neighbor, by the way...straight out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I love this recipe! I read most of the reviews and made the recipe 3x today making little changes each time. I took tips from the reviews and came up with the following changes: sprinkle lemon juice over the cut up apples, toss the apples with cinnamon & nutmeg, 1/2 c. water with 1 T. vanilla added, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 6 T. melted butter, and 3/4 c. oatmeal. We kept one, and gave the others to relatives who asked for the recipe right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Very good! I made a few changes, though: I used apple pie filling instead of apples to make it easier, cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup (thought the filling would be pretty sweet), added about 3/4 cup of rolled oats and poured 3/4 cup of margarine over the top. The top ended up chewy and crispy. I made it for a dinner party and was asked for the recipe a number of times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe is a keeper! Easy and so delicious! I did add about 1 cup of oatmeal to the topping, and I used a cinnamon blend that has nutmeg in it. If you add nutmeg on its own, just a pinch or two is fine. If you like your topping with the oatmeal in it like I do, also add about 2 Tbsp. more butter to make up for the extra dry ingredient in the topping. The apples bake down, so if you like a thicker layer of apples, use one or two more. Using yellow cake mix also works just the same as white. My whole family LOVES this recipe. You will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I have been looking for a great apple crisp recipe for ever! If I found one that was crispy, it had no cake-like middle. If I had cake, I had no crisp. You get the idea. This was both. I did alter the recipe. I used a spice cake mix instead of white, I omitted the brown sugar and added 2 packets of Quaker Instant Oatmeal Supreme cinnamon pecan cereal (make sure to get the supreme cereal only because of denser oats than regular)to the cake mix along with 1 tsp cinnamon. For the apples, I added 4 TBL caramel Ice cream topping blended with the 1 cup water and 1 egg. This was poured over the apples. I like the top really crispy so I put it under the broiler for a couple minutes. This was super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I made this today to serve for Mother's Day tomorrow. My dh and I sampled it out of the oven warm and it is delicious. I took the advice of other reviewers- I doubled the amount of apples,tossed them in lemon juice, sprinkled them with nutmeg and cinnamon, and then added 1 T of vanilla (actually vanilla butter nut extract) to the apples; I reduced both the water and brown sugar to 3/4 of a cup, and added 3/4 cup of oats to the topping. I baked it for 20 minutes at 350, then covered it with foil for another 20 minutes (total cooking time was 40 minutes). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was a hit at a Rosh Hashana dinner I brought it to last night--everyone had seconds! I did make a few changes from the recipe. I used a whole 3-lb. bag of Granny Smith apples (12 small apples), and might use even more next time because they cook down so much. As suggested by other reviewers, I used less water and added extra cinnamon and some vanilla to the apples, sprinkled nuts on top, and only baked it for about 50 minutes. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
FALULOUS!!! Took others suggestions and used 3/4 cup apple cider in place of water; omited sugar, and added 1 cup oatmeal to cake mix topping. The whole pan is gone and my family is clammering for more. Brother-in-law got jiffy cake mix by mistake, and I used 2 boxes to great success. Will make again and again, and everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Really easy and really delicious. I added dried oats to the cake mix for extra crisp. I added about a cup and it was awesome. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States