Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Easy. quick and fun. Next time I will double the amount of apples (and keep everything else the same), for us the ratio to apples vs topping was not what we wanted. It ended up being too sweet. Also, with the apple amount doubled, I hope some apples will remain more firm if I use just 1 c of water as they turned out similar to apple sauce the first time I made. I will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This apple crisp is easy and delicious. It's the perfect apple crisp. The only thing I did different was that I used a caramel apple cake mix because that was all I had. Also, I used soft, room temperature butter, not melted butter. I only wish I had some vanilla ice cream to go on top! This recipe is absolutely a keeper. I cannot wait to make it for friends and family this holiday season!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Treasure Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I would cut down on the brown sugar - maybe 1/2 cup instead of a whole cup. It's a little sweet. I used a yellow cake mix because that is what was in the pantry and Fuji apples from my fridge. East to make and smells so good cooking. A scoop of vanilla ice cream is the perfect topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Have not tried this yet but will this weekend.. I just love this site and thank you for all your wonderful recipes. Also so enjoy reading all the great comments and good feed back..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I have not tried this recipe, but want to make a suggestion, and that is try substituting Mango for the apple, I think you will really enjoy it. Also the same for peach cobbler pie, in stead of peach, use Mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made this recipe this afternoon, I used Apple cider rather then water, and did put oats and also raisins in the topping. I used eight med. Granny Smith and gala apples...house smelled wonderful. Hubby and I tasted it out of the oven, delicious! Will have it for dessert tonight with vanilla ice cream and warmed caramel sauce drizzled over it. My new Apple crisp recipe, I did use a white cake mix if I had a spice or caramel mix I would of tried that! Great recipe! Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is basically a "dump" cake. Over the years I have tried all kinds of "crisps", and they come out ok, but not great. Using the dump cake method w/a cake mix never fails. It is always a hit, and great to take to pot lucks or holiday gatherings. Pumpkin for the holidays is just delicious and festive, albeit that one requires eggs and a little more preparation. I used some apples I have on hand that needed to be eaten or frozen, made this recipe w/fresh apples, and not the canned apple pie filling and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made this recipe with 1/2 cup brown sugar, added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, and 3/4cup rolled oats. Served with vanilla ice cream- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jean
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I doubled the apples and used about one third less sugar. I used a vanilla cake mix and put in two nine inch pie pans. Baked for forty minutes. Held together after cooling. Was able to slice and remove like pie. Used honey gold apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aad
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I added rolled oats and some granola cereal to the yellow cake I had since it was a small mix. Adjusted cinnamon, all spice, and nutmeg as we like. Used wild larger crab apples so added more brown sugar. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States