Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I agree with some of the other reviews, this took a long time to bake. I don't know if it's because I baked mine at 325 (I used a dark tube pan). I changed a couple of things...I used a vanilla cake mix and sugar-free vanilla instant pudding. I used 5 large Gala apples. I read they are sweeter than Granny Smiths so I sliced them and mixed them with 1 TBL of lemon juice and half a cup of white sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I layered the apples as directed and poured the juice from the apples on the top layer. I had no problem getting the cake out of the pan and it didn't break when I flipped it over. The true test will be when I cut the cake. It smells so good, I can't wait to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made this as directed except for using pecans because that's what I had on hand. This is a delicious and moist cake! Mine needed the full 70 minutes and came out perfect. My husband gave this an easy 10 which is saying a lot because he doesn't just hand out 10's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. My only problem with making this was the yellow cake box mix and the instant pudding mix. The recipe calls for a yellow cake box mix that weighs 18.25 ounces. However, these mixes now weigh 15.25 ounces and you can notice the missing 3 ounces when finishing the recipe. Next time, I will use a yellow cake from scratch recipe (30 minute yellow cake recipe looks good) and a vanilla pudding recipe (there is a recipe for vanilla pudding that has the same basic ingredients as an instant mix). Finally, I found that our bundt pan was missing when ready to pour the batter. I substituted a 9 x 14 pyrex dish and the coffee cake came out fine. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very good. I put some of the apples (chopped) in with the batter. Covered in a powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by bettyrocker
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wonderful! My favorite fall dessert! This is what I changed: 1.Added about a teaspoon to the batter 2.Toasted Pecans 3.Used about 1/4-1/2 cup of condensed milk after about 45-50 minutes of baking so the apples didn't get too brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
his is a keeper. My fussy eater husband thought it one of the best he has eaten. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made this cake this weekend and it was absolutely delicious. As I didn't have yellow cake mix on hand I used a white one. I also only had low fat sour cream on hand and used it. I used 6 large spy apples. I baked it for 78 minutes. Cake is moist and really yummy. Thanks for the reccipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Texture was not good, fell apart taking it out and not serveable. Cake mix made it less of a true coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This time of the year I always look for some good apple dessert recipes and this time I hit the jack pot! I did use pecans instead of walnuts but this is a keeper! Thanks! Will make this over & over again! Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Best cake I've ever tasted, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States