Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made this recipe twice in one day. I tried some of the modifications suggested on the first one: using applesauce in place of eggs/oil, using 3 apples, coating the apples with the mixture and stirring them into the batter - it didn't turn out well at all. I was very disappointed. On the second attempt, I made it closer to the recipe, with just a few minor changes: I used only 2 large apples and spread it in a big rectangular baking dish. I layered the apple mix which worked a lot better than stirring it into the batter, but I did still coat the apples with the cinnamon sugar mix. I still had to bake it for almost 90 min. and it turned out perfect, moist and very delicious. I did add a glaze topping once it cooled, which made it even better. I brought it to an outing and everyone loved it. I'm glad I gave it a second chance. It's definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I was looking fo an easy cake recipe for Mom's get together at my son's school. It was ok, nothing really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is the best apple cake...ever! I took this to a brunch for seniors at our church and everyone loved it...especially the seniors! They all asked for the recipe. No changes, just drizzled it lightly with a glaze. Making it again for one of our desserts for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This cake is picture perfect and one of the most moist cakes I have ever made BUT it tastes like a cake mix. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very tasty for a cake that starts with a mix, and easy to make. To avoid the problem of slices falling apart, I made mine in a 9x13 pan. All ingredients are the same (although I chopped the apples, and mixed them with the sugar/cinnamon/ nut mixture), just spread about 2/3 of the batter in the greased pan, top with the apples (pressing down), then drop spoonfuls of the remaining batter all over the apples and spread as best you can. Bake till the knife comes out clean, and you WILL need to cover it with foil to keep it from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
YUMMY IN YOUR TUMMY! YES I'M SHOUTING! This was soooo good & easy! More time peeling & cutting than making the recipe. I finely chopped 1 of the apples & stirred it into the batter. I did use someones suggestion and stirred sugar and nuts into the fruit just before assembling batter and apples. If you sugar too soon; the fruit will weep and make a lot of liquid. This was moist and dense. I wanted to serve it as a dessert so I made whip cream and served it with some sliced apples as presentation. My coffee crew just loved it & I will be printing several recipes requests this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
i just took this cake out of the oven and it is delicious! i followed the recipe pretty much "as written" with only a few changes because of the country in which i live: since one can't get sour cream here, i substituted low-fat, plain yogurt that i had drained a little beforehand...probably doing that cut out A LOT of fat grams too! also, since i didn't have a bundt pan, i baked it in a 9x13. since italians like their cakes a little on the "dry side", i baked it for about 1.5 hours at 350 and it didn't burn. (my oven is tiny and LAME!) like another reviewer suggested, i finely chopped the apples and i did use all 6 (of various sizes) with no problems. other than those few changes i thought it was a GREAT recipe! ***the one thing i would recommend is to have all your ingredients ready BEFORE you start mixing the batter. i waited too long (chopping the apples) and had a lot of difficulty spreading the batter in the pan. the pudding makes it very thick.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marco in italia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was a very simple recipe and it is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Those of you who said it came out mushy, only use three larger apples rather than six apples. I used three and I just want to say WOW!!!! Also, you dont want to just slice them, you want to chop them in to small cube like pieces. it spreads the flavor out more. This cake was fabulous. I baked it for 60 minutes, no more no less and it was perfect. Some people said it wasn't like coffee cake, but mine turned out tasting just like one. That is why it is important to add the apples to the whole mixture instead of layering and just top with the cinnamon/nut mixture on top. I highly recommend this cake. It was easy and deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was more like a bread pudding . . . perhaps I should have baked it longer, but the way I served it, it was more the consistency of a bread pudding. I agree that it's an apple cake, more than a coffee cake. The taste was pretty good, but not my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States