Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
It's good but a little too sweet, I would definitely cut down on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was delicious. I didn't scrimp on the sour cream or the apples. Worth lingering over with coffee after dinner. My family laid waste to this in less then 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I agree with some of the other reviews, this took a long time to bake. I don't know if it's because I baked mine at 325 (I used a dark tube pan). I changed a couple of things...I used a vanilla cake mix and sugar-free vanilla instant pudding. I used 5 large Gala apples. I read they are sweeter than Granny Smiths so I sliced them and mixed them with 1 TBL of lemon juice and half a cup of white sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I layered the apples as directed and poured the juice from the apples on the top layer. I had no problem getting the cake out of the pan and it didn't break when I flipped it over. The true test will be when I cut the cake. It smells so good, I can't wait to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made this as directed except for using pecans because that's what I had on hand. This is a delicious and moist cake! Mine needed the full 70 minutes and came out perfect. My husband gave this an easy 10 which is saying a lot because he doesn't just hand out 10's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. My only problem with making this was the yellow cake box mix and the instant pudding mix. The recipe calls for a yellow cake box mix that weighs 18.25 ounces. However, these mixes now weigh 15.25 ounces and you can notice the missing 3 ounces when finishing the recipe. Next time, I will use a yellow cake from scratch recipe (30 minute yellow cake recipe looks good) and a vanilla pudding recipe (there is a recipe for vanilla pudding that has the same basic ingredients as an instant mix). Finally, I found that our bundt pan was missing when ready to pour the batter. I substituted a 9 x 14 pyrex dish and the coffee cake came out fine. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very good. I put some of the apples (chopped) in with the batter. Covered in a powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by bettyrocker
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wonderful! My favorite fall dessert! This is what I changed: 1.Added about a teaspoon to the batter 2.Toasted Pecans 3.Used about 1/4-1/2 cup of condensed milk after about 45-50 minutes of baking so the apples didn't get too brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
his is a keeper. My fussy eater husband thought it one of the best he has eaten. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made this cake this weekend and it was absolutely delicious. As I didn't have yellow cake mix on hand I used a white one. I also only had low fat sour cream on hand and used it. I used 6 large spy apples. I baked it for 78 minutes. Cake is moist and really yummy. Thanks for the reccipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Texture was not good, fell apart taking it out and not serveable. Cake mix made it less of a true coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States