Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
the cake part itself didnt have much flavor other the that it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Wow - this was great! Very easy, moist but not soggy. I used three average-sized Granny Smith apples. There was plenty of apple filling and if I added any more, I think the batter would have run over the sides when it baked. Does not need any kind of glaze - just sprinkle with powdered sugar for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was a very easy recipe to make. It was too 'cake' like for me (duh, made out of cake mix...lol), but my hubby, the apple coffeecake lover loved it! I made it on Thursday night, and by Saturday night it was history. Even the plate was licked clean. Next time I might add some nuts and chop the apples a little smaller. USE THE FULL AMOUNT OF APPLES! IT makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I shared this coffee cake with several people who all gave it a thumbs up. I have printed out the recipe for several people who wanted it. I'll definitely make this again. I used 4 different kinds of apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
A very moist, tasty cake. I did use 6 Granny Smith apples, and I found it was perfect. When I checked on the cake after 60 minutes, it was still very soft, so I baked an additional 10 minutes, only to find out later that the cake had started to burn. I managed to scrape the very top off, and it tasted fine. Next time I want to try it warm with the ice cream, but last night I just served it at room temperature. Glad I tried it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This is the yummiest coffee cake I've ever tasted. Everyone in my family keeps asking me to make more of this and I've already given this recipe to several people I know. I did use less apples (about 4.5 cups of apples) and I used pecans. This is well worth the time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
I made this for a work function (not mine, the hubby's...that work stuff is for the birds :-) And it looked sensational. I used granny smith apples, and they were fairly large, so by the time I sliced up 4 it looked like more than enough, so 4 is what I used. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly minus the pudding mix, as the cake mix was "double pudding" and I heeded the warnings about soggy cake. I did manage to sneak a taste where it wouldn't be noticed, and it was excellent, tangy, soft, and moist. The perfect companion for a good cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Served this at a family brunch, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Delicious! Easy to prepare, very tasty and very moist. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Not my favorite apple cake. I have a much better recipe from scratch I have been making for years. I made this for a sunday night dinner, I needed something fast and easy. It got mixed reviews - mostly that this cake tasted like a donut shop cake. My husband took the left overs to work and they went wild and could'nt stop eating. I'm not sure what to make of this cake. I found it far too sweet for my taste. I added skor/heath bar pieces (not with chocolate) to the top and it looked wonderful, melted beautifully. Not a bad cake in a pinch I suppose, but I definately prefer scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States