Easy and Tasty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was very easy. I read the review that said it was more than five servings so I pretty much cut the recipe in half for me, my husband and son. There was still enough for me to bring a bowl for lunch! I made a few changes to use what I had on hand. I did 1.5c water, chicken bullion, 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can of chicken, 1 can of black beans, frozen corn, sauted onions, 1 can of Rotel tomatoes, Adobo seasoning, Cumin, Garlic, and Pepper to taste. Topped with sour cream, cheese, avacado and grilled tortillas. I would have liked it a little more spice but I didn't want it to be too hot for my son so just added a little heat to the individual bowls. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The combination of ingredients gives this soup an extra something that the other recipes don't have. I didn't have black beans when I made this so I subbed with kidney beans. I also subbed canned corn for the hominy and did not add the banana pepper. I think it would be even better as written. The only change I will keep in the future is subbing all natural chicken broth for the water and bullion cubes. Cuts down on the salt and tastes even better. Overall a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was the first time I've tried this recipe; had saved another recipe a fews years back but hadn't got around to it yet. This one is THE BEST soup I've made in a while! And everyone else loved it too. We had a smoked turkey during the holidays, so since it had already been seasoned with a cajun spice blend, I thought it would be a great flavor base for this type of soup. I am going to be making this one again soon!! Thanks for this post ShannyBanany!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great tasting and easy to make i tweeked it to suit our taste. It was awesome! A quick easy dish that will feed a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Simple, quick and easy with plenty of flavor. A definite family favorite from the first serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Very tasty and simple to make! I love this recipe! It makes a ton of soup. I took it to a cookout and my friends were impressed that I made it. I add real garlic and half a fresh chopped jalepeno for a bolder flavor. It takes about 25 minutes to put together, and I let it simmer for 2 hours. I highly recommend it for a go-to soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
We made this for our monthly dinner group. It was so simple with everything being in cans, yet everyone thought we slaved over it and thought it tasted fantastic! They all raved about it and asked for the recipe. The only change we made was halving the amount of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is an easy recipe to follow, and it makes a tasty soup. I substituted red beans for the garbanzo beans, and I left out the cream of chicken soup, and instead of the 4 cups of water I used chicken broth. It turned our delish! I thought it to be a tad bit spicy with the chili powder, cumin, and hot sauce, so I just used salt and pepper with the cumin. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
So good and so easy. Great way to use left over chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Super easy. Basically opened up a bunch of cans and poured into a pot. I did make a few changes that made it a little spicier. Used low sodium chicken broth, no banana pepper so used an anheim pepper and broiled it first in oven and took off the skin. Used a can of diced tomatoes with habaneros to take it up a level. Only 1 can of cream of chicken soup (at this point I was getting concerned about sodium level). Fresh chopped garlic instead of garlic salt. Fresh chopped cilantro (sprinkled on top after soup cooked). NO franks red hot. Used a chili seasoning to spice it up too. Trying to figure out ways to salt level otherwise really good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States