Easy and Simple Korean BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Really easy and really good. I did make some adjustments. I did not have sesame seeds so I did not use them. I added season salt, onion powder, black pepper, and red wine vinegar to the marinade. I also used the marinade once removing the ribs. I simmered it down with some chopped celery, bay leaves and minced onions and used it to drizzle on top of the finished grilled ribs. Once I drizzled the sauce, I put them in the oven covered on 350 to bake for 30 minutes and they came out very tender and full of flavor. This is a keeper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I have used this recipe several times and have always had rave reviews. I do tweak the recipe a bit ~ I use maple syrup instead of sugar (in a pinch, you could also substitute pancake syrup). The secret weapon is toasting the sesame seeds and adding to the marinade while still smokin' hot. Adds a nice flavour. I omitted green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was great, my family and I loved it! Will definately make again! I cant wait to try the marinade on some steaks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I reduced the refined (white) sugar with 1/2 dark brown though. It is the best and simplest recipe for anyone inside or out - grilling by charcoal or stove top. I let it marinate also for 24 hours and am still holding a bit of it in the fridge for a quick dinner during the week. I made it with bok choy and carrots - both grilled and served it with kim chee. The meal was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Seriously I don't know how this recipe is getting good reviews. I followed directions to a "T" and the ribs were chewy, not tender at all and were kind of blah tasting. Will not even attempt this one again. Maybe the cut of meat is just not what i'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
did this in the crockpot, it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe except I marinated them for 12 hours and I broiled the ribs...they were amazing!! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Amazing! Had "regular" beef ribs, not the special cut. Didn't have green onions or sesame seeds. I was skeptical about a recipe with 4 ingredients (soy, sugar, garlic, sesame oil) but these were delish! Hubby didn't stop raving! We did the ribs in the crock pot but this would be great grilled. Also would be an excellent marinade for flank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeLandTom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Really a great meal using short ribs that have been cut thin. The flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
oh emmm geeee! I've never had korean ribs but if this is what they are like - yowza! these were fabulous! I had beef ribs that needed to be cooked, and I was driven by what is in the pantry since the stores are closed to day for a holiday. I followed the directions as written, and added a teaspoon of ground ginger and a few dashes of chinese five spice powder, then marinated for about 3 hours. The flavours stay with these even after cooking, a delightful sticky sweet/salty delicious-ness. Just be sure to monitor progress regularly on the grill, as they can flare up as the fat of the beef rib releases. Mine did suffer a char here and there, but still came out very tasty. Will be making again very soon. Thanks Doubledown for sharing. This recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States