Easy and Delicious Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I loved this...did make changes, some from preference and some from necessity...and some from laziness. Made on stove top; did not use bacon; added three carrots and three ribs of celery; used two cans diced tomatoes with liquid; added ground sage and fennel seed. I really can't imagine the canned great northern beans cooking for that long in the newer crockpots which run so hot. I cooked the onions, celery, and carrots then added the chicken. After chicken was cooked, added tomatoes, beans, and seasonings and simmered for about thirty minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
My family (including three boys ages six and under) loved it! I used turkey kielbasa and turkey bacon to keep this lean and still the taste was delicious. My only change was to add 1 c. water to keep everything moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I used chicken breasts and turkey smoked sausage. Couldnt find canned northern beans so I used white navy beans. This was really tasty.. will make it again as weather gets colder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My husband is French, we live in France, and I just acquired a crockpot, so I was eager to try this recipe. The whole family loved it! I was going to say that it needed more beans, but I just realized that I'd read the recipe wrong and thought it called for one can, not three. I happened to have chicken quarters on hand, so I used them, then removed the skin when it fell off. Made it a bit fattier, perhaps. My husband's suggestion was to add the sausage more at the end - he thought it got overcooked in the crockpot. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My husband tries to eat very healthy and has been wanting to eat more beans for protein so i've been trying to find more "bean friendly" recipes. I made this recipe using turkey bacon, turkey kielbasa and chicken thighs. My husband LOVED it! He couldn't stop talking about how good it was. I reserved the liquid from both the beans (only used 2 cans) and the tomatoes and i ended up adding some of the tomato liquid back in. I browned the turkey kielbasa after i cooked the turkey bacon and before i sauteed the onions. I also left out the tomato paste (didn't have any in the pantry) and it still came out great. Next time i think i'll leave out the chicken and just use the turkey bacon and turkey kielbasa. I cooked it on high as someone else suggested for about and hour and then turned down to low for another hour and a half. The beans were soft but not mushy and everything was cooked through. I'm sure the leftovers will be great if they don't get eaten in the middle of the night. Overall great dish and i will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is a very good dish and very authentic tasting and the big plus for me it has an interesting background, historically speaking. My slow cooker has a clay pot (which cooks faster) and I don't know if that helped with the flavors but I'm sure it didn't hurt. Like many recipes, the flavor only gets better as a leftover dish. I serve it with a cheesy sourdough bread. I highly recommend this Cassoulet slow cooker recipe. Thank you, Smart Cookie, for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
My husband loved this dish! We used turkey smoked sausage and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My family, including my finicky 6 year old daughter, loved this dish and I will definitely be making this again. I see a few reviews mention that the beans turned to mush, but my beans came out perfectly. Maybe its related to the quality of the canned bean or the fact that I did not stir once everything was mixed in the crock pot? the changes/substitutions I made, mostly for health reasons: 1) chicken breasts instead of thighs, 2) low fat turkey bacon and sausage instead, 3) I used twice the amount of tomato, specifically Muir Glen diced fire roasted canned tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Draining and rinsing canned beans removes a lot of the gas that gives some people trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!! I did make a few changes. I added 4 cups of chicken broth so it didn't dry out, as well as fresh rosemary. I also didn't brown the chicken. It came out very tender, and I shredded it at the very end. Perfect! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States