Easy and Delicious Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
My whole family loved this. I added some chicken broth before cooking to make more sauce to be daubed up with a baguette. Toute ma famille a aimé ça! J'ai ajouté du bouillon de poule avant la cuisson pour faire plus de sauce à absorber avec de la baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This is an excellent dish. I followed the recipe exactly, but then realized time was getting away from me. So I cooked it on high for three hours in the crockpot and then went to low for an hour. It was perfect. Served it with a nice salad and avoided nice crusty bread which would have been perfect. I believe this recipe is suitable for company as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Jacquemin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I was afraid to leave this all day in my crock pot for fear of overcooking, so I adapted it to my pressure cooker and it was simply fantastic! I pressure cooked the chicken, onions, garlic, spices and added carrots for 30 minutes, letting the pressure drop naturally for 15 minutes. I then added the beans, sausage and cooked bacon, brought it back to pressure for about 3-4 minutes, fast released the pressure and it was all ready. The flavors melded wonderfully and I was able to get it done in about an hour on a weeknight. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I think I would be fine with leaving out the bacon. I also had to add some salt but other than that it was quite tasty. My child was a little put off by its appearance but loved it when he finally tried it. I would love to make this again. It's a nice hearty comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Fried extra bacon and cut up green onions to add on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This recipe is delicious. I made it as written except used chicken breasts. Definitely saved in recipe box and making for the second time in 3 weeks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My boys loved this. Easy, one pot meal. The only change I made was cooking it all in one pot and not transferring it to the slow cooker. I covered it and finished it in the oven on 300 for an hour and a half. That's the time limit that suited me. But you could finish it on 350 much quicker. I also added 2 cups of chicken broth so that there was more broth to it otherwise it would've been to dry. Only thing I would change is add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Godwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
The ingredients in this recipe meld together very well making it a unique and tasty stew. I made this 4 days ago and it was very good. Since it is just me and my wife we had a lot left over. We had part of the left over stew last night and it tasted even better than when it was first made. I did not change anything and see no need to either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Everyone in my family loved this. I used turkey bacon and kielbasa. The only other ingredient change I made was to add carrots. Using a slow cooker for me is about the ease of preparing the meal, so I didn't pre-cook anything but the bacon. I layered the whole chicken breasts, bacon, sausage and onions in the dish then mixed the remaining ingredients, except the bay leaves, in a bowl before spreading over the top. Placed the bay leaves on top and cooked on low for 7 hours. Towards the end I shredded the chicken and mixed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I am giving this 3 stars rather than the 2 stars my version deserved because I had no tomato paste and substituted ketchup. I also used chicken breasts and not thighs. Perhaps those changes spoiled the flavor. My husband and I, both fans of full-flavored dishes, found the taste of this stew too concentrated and overwhelming. I am thinning leftovers with chicken broth but haven't tasted them so can't say whether that made the stew more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States