Easy and Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is easy and delicious, and the entire family raved about it. I will definitely be making this again, but will have to increase the portions because we had NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So easy to make and the whole family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great soup for a cold winter supper. Chose this recipe over others on the site because of the cauliflower and when I went to the grocery store they were sold out of cauliflower! Since the soup was short a vegetable, I added diced carrots. Omitted the salt, reduced the garlic to one clove, added sliced scallions, and minced fresh parsley. Think it would be even better with the cauliflower. Good with or without shredded cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Huge hit with the family ... and my kids friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beallboysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was great and went over well during a football game party. Minor changes..I doubled the recipe and sauteed all of the vegys (except corn and potatoes) until tender and then used an immersion blender to puree half of the vegys once it cooked in the liquid for a while (potatoes cooked through) and only used half the butter. Super good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jandanielle
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My boyfriend and I really enjoy cooking and this was such a fun, easy meal to prepare together. Since the holiday season was recently upon us, there has been an over abundance of HAM in both our families dinners. I hate to be wasteful, so I started off my day with a traditional English brekkie of Bubble and Squeak (which I highly recommend to anyone that has leftover veggies from a roast) and then this delicious meal for dinner. I actually added a bit more flour to the milk mixture because I enjoy thick, hearty soups. We topped off our bowls with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and green onions. This was a fantastic recipe we will definitely use again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was my third time making this addictive soup. The only thing differentwas I added kraft shredded cheese with cream cheese.Awesome s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Very nice recipe. I cooked a meaty ham bone from the freezer in the crockpot overnight and used the broth from that in place of the water and chicken bouillon. I kind of reserved the method. I cooked the potatoes in the ham broth in a large sauce pan. I cooked the onion, celery, garlic and carrot (not called for in the recipe) in the butter. Added the flour and made a roux using 2 cups low fat milk. I added the seasonings to the roux / milk mixture. Once the potatoes were done I dumped them and the broth into the large pot and added the ham from the ham bone and the corn. If you like larger pieces of potato in your soup leave it as it. If you like a smoother more creamy soup, use a potato masher to smash up the potatoes and broth before adding the the creamy vegetable mixture. The white pepper gives the a very tasty finish. If you are sensitive to pepper cut the white pepper back to 1/2 tsp. I garnished the soup with a little grated cheese and diced chives. Served with a crusty bread it made for a wonderful dinner. Thanks for a good recipe, Cara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Love it!. I ad cheese to mine too.Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port O Connor, Texas, USA
Living In: Welsh, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States