Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I make this recipe all the time with some changes. First, I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces, then in a bowl I combine all the other ingredients and mix well. I pour the mixture over the chicken, cover with foil and bake as directed until the rice is done. It's a simple dish, but if you make it as directed I find that the rice doesn't get cooked and the ingredients don't blend well together. Made the way I do it, it's a flavorful and simple dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2551 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
The first time I made this, it tasted fantastic, however the rice on the bottom didn't cook, and the chicken was a little over done. The next time I made it, I cut the chicken up into 8 pieces instead of 4, and I mixed in the liquid and rice. I also mixed in the soup mix. This time it was cooked perfectly! I've made this 3 times now, and this time I didn't have cream of chicken soup, so I substituted cream of broccoli and it was FANTASTIC. We had no leftovers, and that never happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
For a very simple, basic dish, this was pretty good. It reminded me of something my grandmother would make. I made a few changes. I used cream of mushroom soup; I added a little more water; I did not use the onion soup mix (seemed that it would be incredibly salty with the onion mix in addition to the soup) and instead used a little dried herbs seasoning mix (basil, garlic, rosemary, thyme, etc) and fresh garlic for more flavor; I added fresh mushrooms; I mixed the water, rice, and soup mix rather than pouring the mixture over the rice; and I used two chicken breasts because that's all I had. I baked it for an hour, which was probably a little long. The rice tasted almost like a nice, creamy (easy) risotto. You could do a lot with this recipe, and I'll keep experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
859 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is sooooooooo good!!!! Put in crock pot before work...came home to delicious-smelling house! I used yellow spanish rice and set on low for 6 hours. It came out great! Served with steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terr644

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I sauteed celery, onions & garlic to add along with fresh broccoli before baking- that gave the veggie addition I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This dish was yummy. I changed a few things though I used chicken flavored rice mixed in cream of mushroom soup instead of cr. of chicken and used 1/2 a package of onion soup mix and used chicken broth instead of water . but you need to mix the rice in w/ the liquid also the soup and I poured it all over the chicken and added cheese the last 15min .Only bake it for 1hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made this last night. I changed a few things after I read the other comments and here is what I did. Instead of water I used a can of chicken broth, instead of cream of chicken soup I used a jar of chicken gravy and instead of onion soup I used vegetable soup. I seasoned the chicken with garlic salt, seasoned salt and paprika. It was so good......my 6 year old, my 2 year old and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Very easy to make. Good flavor. I added a little extra rice, since many stated the rice was too mushy. It came out great. I would recommend cutting up the chicken into smaller pieces so it can absorb more of the flavor. It was a little bland but very tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meraux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was so simple, but yet so good. I did brown my chicken in butter, jalapenos, onions, garlic, and dill. Also used chicken broth instead of water. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I was looking for something a bit different, yet quick and easy, to make for dinner and this was it! I added some fresh mushrooms to the rice and soup mix and sprinkled the chicken w/ Italian bread crumbs...it was very good! My husband even enjoyed it! I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States