Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I make this recipe all the time with some changes. First, I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces, then in a bowl I combine all the other ingredients and mix well. I pour the mixture over the chicken, cover with foil and bake as directed until the rice is done. It's a simple dish, but if you make it as directed I find that the rice doesn't get cooked and the ingredients don't blend well together. Made the way I do it, it's a flavorful and simple dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
The first time I made this, it tasted fantastic, however the rice on the bottom didn't cook, and the chicken was a little over done. The next time I made it, I cut the chicken up into 8 pieces instead of 4, and I mixed in the liquid and rice. I also mixed in the soup mix. This time it was cooked perfectly! I've made this 3 times now, and this time I didn't have cream of chicken soup, so I substituted cream of broccoli and it was FANTASTIC. We had no leftovers, and that never happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
For a very simple, basic dish, this was pretty good. It reminded me of something my grandmother would make. I made a few changes. I used cream of mushroom soup; I added a little more water; I did not use the onion soup mix (seemed that it would be incredibly salty with the onion mix in addition to the soup) and instead used a little dried herbs seasoning mix (basil, garlic, rosemary, thyme, etc) and fresh garlic for more flavor; I added fresh mushrooms; I mixed the water, rice, and soup mix rather than pouring the mixture over the rice; and I used two chicken breasts because that's all I had. I baked it for an hour, which was probably a little long. The rice tasted almost like a nice, creamy (easy) risotto. You could do a lot with this recipe, and I'll keep experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
860 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is sooooooooo good!!!! Put in crock pot before work...came home to delicious-smelling house! I used yellow spanish rice and set on low for 6 hours. It came out great! Served with steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terr644

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I sauteed celery, onions & garlic to add along with fresh broccoli before baking- that gave the veggie addition I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This dish was yummy. I changed a few things though I used chicken flavored rice mixed in cream of mushroom soup instead of cr. of chicken and used 1/2 a package of onion soup mix and used chicken broth instead of water . but you need to mix the rice in w/ the liquid also the soup and I poured it all over the chicken and added cheese the last 15min .Only bake it for 1hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made this last night. I changed a few things after I read the other comments and here is what I did. Instead of water I used a can of chicken broth, instead of cream of chicken soup I used a jar of chicken gravy and instead of onion soup I used vegetable soup. I seasoned the chicken with garlic salt, seasoned salt and paprika. It was so good......my 6 year old, my 2 year old and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Very easy to make. Good flavor. I added a little extra rice, since many stated the rice was too mushy. It came out great. I would recommend cutting up the chicken into smaller pieces so it can absorb more of the flavor. It was a little bland but very tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meraux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was so simple, but yet so good. I did brown my chicken in butter, jalapenos, onions, garlic, and dill. Also used chicken broth instead of water. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I was looking for something a bit different, yet quick and easy, to make for dinner and this was it! I added some fresh mushrooms to the rice and soup mix and sprinkled the chicken w/ Italian bread crumbs...it was very good! My husband even enjoyed it! I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States