Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My Mom taught me how to make this years ago and it has been in our rotation ever since. I often add different veggies also, keep in mind don't go overboard with them, try it a few times with one or two but because of the onion soup mix, the flavors might not mix too well. Our fave mixes are green beans and corn or asparagus and water chesnuts. Although I like this recipe better than my Mom's because it is less time consuming. My Mom would use a whole cut up bone in chicken, thanks for this version!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe a number of times. What I do to keep the chicken moist is put it on the bottom of the casserole, top with rice and then the soups. Always turns out great. Sometimes I cut the chicken breasts up. When I do that I start the rice and soups, baking them about half way through, then stir in the chicken pieces. That way they don't get dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this without the dry onion soup mix, because i didn't have any. I used stock instead of water. I cut up the chicken, as suggested in other reviews. I added a bit of thyme and garlic and some chopped up onions. the taste is good, but the rice is very mushy. not sure if i did something wrong or not. might try with brown rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I added some veggies to the recipe (1 cup frozen peas, 3 med. carrots cut into 1/4" slices, and 8oz. sliced mushrooms) and used chicken stock instead of water. Greased a 9x13 pan, evenly distibuted the chicken and veggies, and mixed the rest of the ingredients together and poured it over the chicken. After one hour, the chicken was perfect, but the rice and carrots were still way too hard. After another 1/2 hour, the rice and carrots were fully cooked. Next time, I will cook all the ingredients EXCEPT for the chicken for 1/2 hour, add the chicken, and finish cooking for one hour. That way, the chicken will come out perfect. (When it cooks for 1.5 hours, it comes out alittle tough/overcooked).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Simple, good and my knit picky boyfriend actually gave it 2 thumbs up! (that is extremely rare!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Bland and one dimensional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
very bland. Needs some zip but not sure what? Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
We tried this last night but it was very bland. Not sure what to add to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I think I'd add real onion or mushrooms and light salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States