Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made this last night just as the recipe was written with the addition of a bit of quinoa to the rice - it was easy, smelled super and tasted great - and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
excellent recipe, quick and easy, enjoyed by the whole family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Wanted to increase the nutrition on this, so I used a long/short grain brown rice mix. Also added 1 chicken stock cube in water. Cut 3 chicken breasts into 12 pieces. Used a crock pot for 7 hours on low. Added peas the last hour of cooking. Very, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Have made this basic recipe for years. Cream of mushroom or celery works fine but I use 2 cans of cream soup and a whole cut up chicken. Also, uncovering for last 15 minutes gives the dish a nice brown. The rice is just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Flavorful and yummy. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cowboy Mark
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Easy to make and turned out great. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Just an historical perspective- this is a recipe from the 1960's; I think it was from the onion soup manufacturers. I remember my mom making it many times. It was called "Chicken on Sunday," because people would tuck it in the oven, go to church, and have dinner done when they returned. Back then, most people didn't worry about salt as much, so add less if you want of the soup. Chicken breasts were somewhat smaller, and it was usually baked close to two hours, to allow time for church to end-- that way you may find the rice and chicken are more "done."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My Mom taught me how to make this years ago and it has been in our rotation ever since. I often add different veggies also, keep in mind don't go overboard with them, try it a few times with one or two but because of the onion soup mix, the flavors might not mix too well. Our fave mixes are green beans and corn or asparagus and water chesnuts. Although I like this recipe better than my Mom's because it is less time consuming. My Mom would use a whole cut up bone in chicken, thanks for this version!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe a number of times. What I do to keep the chicken moist is put it on the bottom of the casserole, top with rice and then the soups. Always turns out great. Sometimes I cut the chicken breasts up. When I do that I start the rice and soups, baking them about half way through, then stir in the chicken pieces. That way they don't get dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this without the dry onion soup mix, because i didn't have any. I used stock instead of water. I cut up the chicken, as suggested in other reviews. I added a bit of thyme and garlic and some chopped up onions. the taste is good, but the rice is very mushy. not sure if i did something wrong or not. might try with brown rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Cody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States