Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I am a grandma and I grew up with my grandma calling this "busy day chicken and rice." Even then she knew you have to mix at least half of the soup and water with the rice before you put the meat on top and the rest of the soup mixture and the dry onion soup mix on top of that. Otherwise, as others have stated, the rice on the bottom never completely cooks. This is my "go to" Sunday dinner that can cook slowly in the oven while I am at church. I do not like it in the crockpot because that destroys the crunchiness of the onion soup topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
The original recipe I had was 1 stick of butter melted in the bottom of the casserole dish, 1 cup of uncooked rice, 2 cups of milk, 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 pkg. dry onion soup mix and four chiclen breasts - bone in and skin on. Pour rice over the melted butter, mix soup and milk together - lay chicken skin side down on top of the rice, pour the soup mixture over that and sprinkle the onion soup mix on top. Add any veggies you may like. Bake 325 for 2 hrs which should cook the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I only use about half of the onion soup mix due to saltiness. If want more soup mix type onion, I can add dried or dehydrated onion that is found on the spice aisle. To Alymade, if you take all the seasoning (soup mix) away, bland is what you get. So, don't blame the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Have used this recipe many times. Use brown rice to add fiber just cook a little longer. My original recipe does not call for pease either but when added makes a nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have been making this recipe for 31 years but I add one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of cream of celery soup with a can of water from each soup, mixed and poured over the one cup of rice. The dry onion soup mix does not make this casserole salty but rather very tasty. I also cook it for 2 hours and everything is cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This recipe brought tears to my eyes. It was my late daughter's favorite chicken casserole. As a working mom, it was easy for either her, or myself, to get together after work. It's easily tweeked to make it something your family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Ummmm... i think the ingredients left out "peas." The picture looks like it's got more peas than chicken, yet it is not on the list of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is a good base recipe but unfortunately this was very bland for me. I didn't use the onion soup because I did not have it on hand. I added cheese and combined all the ingredients together to save time. Almost done through cooking I mixed the casserole and decided to taste it; was very bland. So I added more seasonings and cheese and came out much better. This recipe is a good base recipe but not something I would make again unless I tweaked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I added about 1/2 c. Diced bacon to mine and also cut my chicken inti cubes. Also i used only 1/2 a can of the soup and add a 3 oz. Block cream cheese. The new cream cheese garlic and herb blends are also a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Twin Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I make this recipe MSG free with Healthy Request Campbells cream of chicken soup and MSG free onion soup mix from Bulk Barn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States