Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Easy to make, but it was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I was prepared to be underwhelmed, but this recipe really was very good. I did add some frozen peas and carrots, but that was my only change. You could use any "cream of" soup with this and it would turn out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Only added 1 1/2 cups of water and the consistency was just right. Was done after 45 minutes. Usually like onion soup mix with rice but for this one, I think I'd rather leave it out and just add some herbs or something instead. Nice and easy though, would make again for a quick weeknight meal (sans onion mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This dish had a lot of flavor but in my case, the onion soup over powered the whole dish. It was still edible though. I followed the recipe exactly - no additions/omissions and my rice cooked as it should have. I have made several of these types of chicken casseroles and my rice always cooks this same way so I don't know what to say to help those who's rice won't cook. Sorry. If I make it again, I will either omit or decrease the amount of onion soup mix and add some frozen vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Well, I did tweak it a bit...I used Cream of Mushroom soup instead of chicken soup and I used chicken broth instead of water...but I was blown away with the taste and how easy it was to make! Instead of plain rice, I used a package of chicken flavored rice mix (it had lots of great seasoning, which meant I didn't have to use a lot of salt and pepper), and I added a little Lawry's and black pepper. I also added mixed veggies to it and did as other reviewers suggested, mixed the rice with the other ingredients with the rice and poured it over the chicken (and I used chicken tenderloins cut into bite-sized pieces). I just loved it and my hubby and I each ate two big plates full! There's enough for tomorrow's lunch, too! Thanks for the dish!! By the way, I only used a very little of the onion soup mix and I sprinkled it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is ok. My kids loved the rice. I made a few reader suggested changes and combined the liquids with the rice. I did not cut the chicken into pieces, but if I make it again (probably won't) I would do that. Overall, I thought the rice was mushy and the chicken had no flavor. At a very minimum it needed salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was a good 'throw together' dinner while I was in a pinch. I used pre-cooked chicken that I had and was hoping to cut down on the cooking time. It didnt work that way. I cooked for one hour and the rice was still hard. It probably needed to cook 20+ minutes loner. I added peas to mine at the end. If I make this again, I would probably try the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was delicious with a few tweaks. I did cut up the chicken into smaller pieces based on some previous reviews. I seasoned them with salt and pepper and put in the pan first. Then I mixed all other ingredients together and poured over the chicken. Baked 1 hour, for the last 10 minutes I put some fresh grated parmesan over and a little bit of paprika which gave it a beautiful color at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I liked it alot - Randy didn;t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I made this for last nights dinner and it was incredible. DH and kids loved it, even I went back for a second helping of the rice. I did think the soup mix would have been to salty. I subbed 1/2 TBL sp Garlic salt, 1 tsp celery salt, 2 tsp onion powder. and since i doubled the recipe i used 1 can cm of mushroom & 1 can roasted garlic crm mushroom. also added 1/2 tsp tarragon on top before baking, salt and pepper to taste. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing. Oh, and Hubby says thanks too. He is not a big chicken fan, but this could convert him. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States