Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Thank you J Saunders. My Mom made this all through my chidlhood. By the time I asked her how to make it, she had Alzheiner's, and couldn't answer. She called it Chicken Continental, and the only difference is, that she used bone-in chicken, and coated it with flour. The top came out brown, with a great crust. Everything else was the same. Thank you for a much needed "flash back"...great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I loved this recipe! I almost always make them as close as possible, but I didn't have onion soup on hand. I added fresh mushrooms & 1/2 cup chopped onions & baked as directed. The chicken could use a little more browning so I took off the foil and decided to sprinkle some grated cheddar cheese. What a fantastic addition!! My husband raved about this recipe and I agreed, very very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
We threw some frozen veggies in and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Skip the pizza! This is a great, healthy run-to dinner for those 'need something easy' nights. Just switch to Instant brown rice and FF CreamOfChicken (or your preferred soup). Like other reviewers, I too mixed the rice/soup/water before adding chicken to the top..... and don't skip the Onion soup mix, it makes the dish different than other Chicken & Rice Casseroles. (I also added broccoli the second time, even better!) Very easy and yummy! Served with the prepackaged Light Caesar salad. Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made this dish late last night for today's dinner. I followed the recipe as is for the most part with 3 exceptions...I used drumsticks which I lightly seasoned and slightly browned in olive oil and a pat of butter. In addition to that, I also used 1 and a 1/2 cups of saffron rice and cut the onion soup mix down to 1/2 of a pack. As others have said, it is a great base/starter recipe and on that note I rate it a 4. For ease and simplicity I rate it a 5. As for taste I rate it 3.5 stars. The taste was just ok, nothing spectacular to write home about. I'll wait to see if my finicky 8 year old likes it. I will definitely make this again, but I'll tweak it to make it my own. I stumbled across this recipe looking for ideas using cream of chicken soup, chicken, and frozen spinach. I found several recipes and decided to try this one first. Btw, my dish didn't turn out salty, probably because I only used 1/2 a pack of onion soup mix and extra water for the extra rice I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
A tad bit dry...will add some extra cream of chicken next time but other than that, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It was approved by my mother in law! It was really good, I did add some carrot and mrs dash seasoing and nature's seasoning. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Loved this! I made a few changes to the recipe: replaced cream of chicken with cream of mushroom, use vegetable broth 2 cups & 1/4 cup water, I used a whole chicken cut up, & I changed the recipe servings to 6. I follwed the advise of another reviewed & melted butter in a skillet sauteeed 1 whole onion & lightly browned the chicken in it. I cooked mine 1 hour 15 mins. Prefect. I also served mine with hot sauce for a bit of spice. I will fix this over as we had no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States