Easy Alfredo Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I tried this recipe because I didn't have heavy cream on hand but had half and half. I tempered the eggs like suggested in other reviews. The taste was alright but it had a fine lumpy texture that wouldn't whip out (it is not a lack of tempering the eggs that makes this lumpy but rather the combination of ingredients). The recipe says to simmer 5-10 minutes, the longer it simmered, the more lumpy it got. I whipped in butter to try and smooth out the texture, it helped but I couldn't get the lumps out. I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Make sure to use fresh Parmesan cheese because otherwise it becomes extremely chunky. In addition this sauce was very bland and when adding the pasta, thickened too much and was no longer the consistency of sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I used this recipe because I had all of the ingredients on hand. Perhaps I did something wrong? It ended up chunky with bits of egg in it, reminiscent of egg drop soup. I ended up pureeing it in the blender, which helped at first but then the sauce separated again once it was mixed with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars because it was a huge hit with my 2 year old. I made this for lunch it was simple and easy. I cut the recipe in half and used 1/2 a box of bow tie pasta. We shared it and there was still plenty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
My favorite recipe for alfredo. You have to be sure you dont over cook it. That was a hard lesson. HAHA VERY VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim DeVoid Colby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I attempted to make this sauce several years ago to put over cheese raviolis. It didn't turn out as I wanted it too. I had to add corn starch to thicken the sauce and it just didn't taste like I had hoped. I guess I'll have to try this again since I have more cooking experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDGET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
One thing that might help with the clumping of the egg yolks - and I'm surprised that the original recipe doesn't mention it - would be to temper the eggs by mixing a measure of the hot sauce to the beaten eggs before putting them into the saucepan. It's a fairly common technique with Hollandaise and other sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Yummy but came out very grainy. Wish I'd read the review about adding the egg yolks later. I used it for pizza so it didn't impact the presentation much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
We tried it because we only had these ingredients on hand and it was a mistake. The sauce turned chunky after a few minutes in the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Taste was not bad, turned out too watery (might be my fault I used skim milk instead of whole since that's all I buy). I also added some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States