Easy Alfredo Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
To all those who have criticized this recipe, here are a few notes: 1. Use fresh parmesan, grated (many reviewers say they HAVE, but...) 2. Add it SLOWLY -- don't dump the whole amount of cheese in at one time. Add it a half cup at a time, and keep stirring, and wait 3 or so minutes, and.... 3. Put the heat on medium, not medium low, and.... 4. Stir constantly, and... 5. Recognize it can be a BASE. For those of you who like more flavor, add garlic or onions or oregano or hot sauce or whatever you want. It's fine as it is, when made properly. If you want more flavors, or want it thicker, or want it thinner, correct as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1459 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I love this sauce! I melt the butter, then add the cream and get that all mixed in and then wisk constantly while I add the cheese one handful at the time. Once everything is mixed in I just go through my spice rack and add whatever I want. Usually I use garlic powder, italian seasonings, basil, and parsly. I could eat this all by itself! Better than Olive Garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
470 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My husband requested I make Chicken Fettuccine for his birthday. I used this sauce and he said it was better than the restaurant sauce. The trick is to heat the cream slowly until it is almost simmering, then whisk the butter into the cream in small pieces until melted. Then whisk the cheese in until melted and use freshly grated cheese if available. The sauce comes out creamy, thick and delightful. A great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Wonderful!!! I always add a clove of crushed garlic and a teaspoon of Italian seasoning to the butter. Be sure to add your parm. slowly, no more than half a cup at a time, as others have suggested. This will make all the difference! Toss with 12oz of fettuccine pasta and add a couple of grilled chicken breasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I am extremely picky with Alfredo sauces. I don't buy anything off the shelves, and I've tried the mixes, but nothing compares to this recipe. It's as good as The Olive Garden's (if not better) Alfredo sauce. Until this recipe came along, I didn't eat any Fettuccini Alfredo if it wasn't The Olive Garden's. I'll be saving money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcastro75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
WOW! What can I say! This sauce is out of this world! And SO easy!! My kids and husband LOVED it too!!! I liked the texture of parm. cheese! Some of the best italian restaurants around here have the same texture in their alfredo sauce...the only change I made was I added about a 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder...really put it over the top! Thanks SO much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I first made this over a year ago and I still make quite regularly. It is so easy to make. I get the best results by adding the butter and letting it melt, then add the cream let it heat up. Last add the cheese. I also add frozen spinach or chicken. I love the taste of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was very very good. I did add 2 cloves garlic, and a tiny amount of fresh ground pepper and basil. Next time I will add 3 cloves garlic and salt and much more pepper and basil. I think adding nutmeg would make it more authentic tasting, but I personally do not like the taste of nutmeg. The consistency was very creamy and good - and I only had about 7 oz of heavy cream on hand so used 1/2 & 1/2 to bring it up to one pint. Tossed in diced leftover chicken and spinach for a one dish meal that everyone loved. Thank you for sharing this easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was not to my liking! I went out for dinner instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This sauce was very bland. I also had trouble getting a smooth consistancy, even with freshly grated parmesan cheese. I've made creamy cheese sauces before with no problem. I'm not sure what happened here. I won't make this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States