Easy Alfredo Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
this is a great, easy recipe. I did have a hard time getting it to thicken as the recipe says it will. I added a cornstarch slurry and then it thickened nicely. It tastes really good though, maybe I'll read some of the reviews and try to do it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I had to fix it. Even without all the cream called for, it was still too liquidy so I put it back on the heat, boiled it good, finally added a little arrowroot slurry, whisked out lumps, and then it was thick. Tasted bitter from the parmesan. Next time I'm using Parmigiano Reggiano, not an off-brand block. I whisked in a few ounces of cream cheese and it was fine. My mom said it was the best alfredo she's had. If you want easy and gluten-free, I like this technique. Next time I'll keep the cream cheese and just leave time to cook it down until it's thick. Good stuff, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
So easy and very tasty! I made it with half-and-half and added a tiny sprinkle of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Amazing sauce, and my first truly successful alfredo! Started by sweating a couple of cloves of chopped garlic in butter, whisked in cream, pinch of nutmeg and then cheese. Just keep stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
All I added was a couple of cloves of minces garlic and some salt and pepper. Yummmmm. I added some grilled chicken. OMG. This was really delish. I also tossed some asparagus in olive oil, salt and pepper and coated them in the cheapo parm and grilled them for a wonderful side dish. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimPerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was very easy to make. I added some minced garlic and salt and pepper and it was perfect. I think those who don't like this recipe maybe having some technical issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Great sauce for pasta. I heated the cream, whisked in the butter in chunks, then sprinkled in the freshly grated parmesan a little at a time. It seemed thin, so I let it set for 10 minutes and it did, indeed, thicken up as the recipe described. The kids even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This is the perfect base sauce! Since there are few things my kids will eat, and this is one of their favorites, we have this once a week for pasta night. I use unsalted real butter, Frigo shaved Parmesan cheese, and just Great Value brand whipping cream. I dump all three ingredients in the pan at once and then set my burner to the "melt" setting. Just put it on the lowest setting if yours doesn't have a "melt" function. I keep it this low until the butter is completely melted, stirring occasionally. Once the butter is melted, crank it up to medium and let the cheese start melting...it WILL melt and meld, promise! Once the cheese is melted and it's all stringy, I crank up the heat another couple of notches and let it come to a rolling boil, stirring constantly. Let it boil one minute...that's how you get it smooth. Now let's talk flavor. I like very flavorful alfredo sauce. I add salt to taste, several fresh basil leaves, and garlic powder to taste. I add these extras at the beginning. Hope that helps for those of you saying this was bland or that their were timing issues with melting the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight. My son said that it was a repeatable meal after only a couple of bites. I followed the recipe and added sautéed chicken pieces with garlic. Goodbye jarred Alfredo sauce. Thank you for a terrific addition to our menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe. I've read some people find it to bland but for me (and I'm a more simple type of girl) I loved it. My husband and kids couldn't eat it fast enough. And for people who love to experiment and add things this is really a great base. It made it following the recipe the first time and the second time I added fresh garlic. It was great both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States