Easy Alfredo Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
First time I made this sauce and it was wonderful. I read the reviews and melted the butter first, added the whipped cream, and very slowly added the parmesan (only had 1 1/4 c). I whisked constantly on med then went to simmer to give me time to heat the chicken and frozen broccoli. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic pwd, basil, S&P and threw some parsley in before I added the parmesan. My husband and I loved it. We had it with broccoli and grilled chicken, but I did not mix it together until served. This is def a keeper. And yes, it is as good if not better than Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I was skeptical of the recipe since I didn't know if the butter would integrate with the cream. It did and made for a luscious sauce. I added chopped garlic in with the butter when it was melting. I added the parmesan cheese in stages until it fully melted and stirred with a whisk often. I added in salt and pepper and it made for a wonderful dinner. Hubby said we could have this once a month since it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Easy and very tasty. My children loved it. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Incredible! One of my fav go to fast dinners is sausage with noodles in Alfredo sauce with boiled veggies like zucchini and broccoli. I have only ever used the store bought jar stuff. I had no idea how easy and delishes it is to make it your self!! I love limiting the preservatives I feed my family. Both my husband and I just loved this recipe!! It is now in the rotation. It was very easy. I did add salt n pepper n garlic powder. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Its a very good sauce. I cut back a little on the unsalted butter and add some olive oil. Also, if you wanna take it to the next level, use fresh parsley (I chop it very fine) and garlic. Gruyere cheese is very good mixed in as well. Good as it is, or as a base recipe that you customize as you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justin nichols

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Wonderful, simple. Creamed butter and garlic in food processor first, then melted in sauce pan added heavy cream, slowly added cheese. Delicious. Best homemade I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Super easy and so tasty - much better than the packaged, pre-made Alfredo sauces you get at the grocery store, which tend to have a lot of other ingredients you don't really need. I agree with the reviewer who noted that you get the best results from adding the Parmesan cheese slowly, and stirring continuously. Also, I used Parmesan-Romano, which gave it a little extra zip, and real butter (unsalted), which does make a difference flavor-wise. I figure, as long as you don't have it every day, there's nothing wrong with this - it uses real ingredients and not a bunch of chemical additives, and you can truly say it's homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGM429

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, however, it should include that you need to add the cheese SLOWLY. From the way the recipe is written it looks like you just put it all into a sauce pan and let it do its thing. It should also explain that stirring it frequently helps. It is a good recipe (as far as ingredients go) but not a good recipe as far as directions go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
this is a great, easy recipe. I did have a hard time getting it to thicken as the recipe says it will. I added a cornstarch slurry and then it thickened nicely. It tastes really good though, maybe I'll read some of the reviews and try to do it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I had to fix it. Even without all the cream called for, it was still too liquidy so I put it back on the heat, boiled it good, finally added a little arrowroot slurry, whisked out lumps, and then it was thick. Tasted bitter from the parmesan. Next time I'm using Parmigiano Reggiano, not an off-brand block. I whisked in a few ounces of cream cheese and it was fine. My mom said it was the best alfredo she's had. If you want easy and gluten-free, I like this technique. Next time I'll keep the cream cheese and just leave time to cook it down until it's thick. Good stuff, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States