Easy A La King Biscuit Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I had to substitute homemade turkey broth and turkey meat for the chicken broth/chicken meat in this casserole only because that's what I had on hand. I did use equal amounts fresh sliced baby bella mushrooms. I made this casserole in my cast iron skillet. What I did was browned the onion with the mushrooms, red pepper and a little fresh minced garlic in the butter in the skillet, then added the flour and let the mixture turn a light brown before adding the broth, turkey meat and the remaining vegetables. Before sticking the casserole in the oven, I brushed each biscuit with butter. My casserole was done in a little over 20 minutes. The whole family liked it. This is really like a quick Turkey Pot Pie. I'd make this again. Very filling and comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I followed this recipe with the exception of using all fresh veggies but had to add spices to give it the quick I felt it was missing - poultry seasoning, celery salt, marjoram, pepper and sage. Good comfort food recipe that isn't too bad for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Home made goodness taste without the effort!! The kids even loved it. It was an easy way to sneak vegetables into a meal. I used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables instead of just plan peas. I skipped the peppers because no one in my family really likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
No clue what planet I was on when I put in 1/2 cup of flour. Had to scramble to add more butter, cursing like mad.. but it's weird. I had boiled up a large batch of chicken thighs for the meat, as I was 'going cheap', and I always make my own broth from that of course, so I had plenty of broth to keep adding to make the consistancy of my Mistake.. work. The stuff I ended up with was thicker still than I would normally have made it and I just knew it was going to be awful! it turned out awesome! lol Just goes to show, when a recipe is simple basic, it can cover lil mistakes like that. Now the family wants it Just that way all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I adjusted this recipe only to include more chicken, as my kids are fanatics about white meat. This was the easiest, and most adaptable recipe I have found in a long time. Thanks Sara, my kids thought of it like a Chicken Pot Pie, and if I had told them Ala King, they would not have even tried it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very good. I liked not using soup to make the sauce. I added a touch of rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Wonderful! I love Terry's Easy Chicken Pie from this site but when I went on a diet, it became a "No-no". So, I started making this instead. I use can of mushrooms and some frozen corn, beans, and carrots in place of the veggies listed here. I also use reduced fat bisquits. It's great comfort food and my picky family loves it! Thanks for a great recipe, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
This recipe was pretty good. Like a big pot pie. I added frozen peas & carrots & eliminated the mushrooms & peppers since my kids won't eat them. Otherwise they really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made it this evening & it was Great! I added a half can of cream of celery & cream of chicken. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritoburito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My family really liked this recipe and it was very easy. I added corn and omitted the mushrooms and peppers.It was a little bland will spice up next time. This is a wonderful FAST meal after a hard day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala Henry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States