Eastern Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This is sooo good! It always gets rave reviews. I like to add the dressing just before serving, because it does tend to get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I bring this salad to every potluck I go to and everyone always asks for the recipe. I sometimes alter the recipe to make it different, by adding a little sesame oil and using different vegetables. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Good. However, I think that you could definitely let the flavors meld together longer with the sauce than just the 1 hour before. Also, I added water chestnuts and omitted bean sprouts- which was a good call for our family. Lastly, I would add more garlic to the sauce, lessen the amount of celery and green onions- since those two veggies somewhat overpour the dish. But other than that it's a very tasty rice dish. Will definitely try again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I omitted the spinach and upped the rice to 1c. When I added the oil/soy sauce/garlic mix-even with all the veggies/rice-it was too salty and oily for me. I then cooked another cup of rice..let cool and then added it. This gave it a neat effect b/c the soy sauce mix had already "darkened" the rice I had mixed in and the addition of the new white rice gave it a neat look. Now, with the 2c cooked rice, it was much less salty and I was able to enjoy it better. However, not my favorite salad recipe, but still a nice idea and change from the norm. Thanks Teri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Simple and delicious. I used white and wild rice instead of just white. A new classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This recipe has been a hit at both a groom's rehearsal dinner and at a pot luck. I always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
My husband just stated that this is his new favorite salad. I made this exactly as printed, except I didn't add bean sprouts (couldn't get them) and I shortchanged the vegetable oil so that I could add 1 Tbsp. sesame oil. I found it a little salty. Next time, I'll either use less soy sauce and add a touch of rice vinegar, or I'll use kecap asin, which is very similar to soy sauce, but has a touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I served it with grilled tuna steaks and sourdough, it was a total hit. Everyone had additional helpings and kept commenting how yummy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I've made this salad for almost every BBQ we've attended this summer and am always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
I made this for a women's luncheon. Everyone asked me for the recipe. Not only is it delicious and healthy, it's also a nice change from your average green salad or pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States