Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
The best recipe I have found for Eastern carolina BBQ Yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
now this is how we do it in east nc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
H O T ! ! This is authentic, but spicier than the restaurants I've visited. Perhaps I always got the "mild" version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEOBLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Great recipe- I used a cajun mix of spices instead of the cayenne and it worked out very well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Canaan, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This was good but being from Texas, our bbq is different. I added some worsteshire and regular bbq sauce to make it more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Great..Who would have thought that you could have so many variances in different BBQ sauces. I never thought I would eat anything differently than the way we do it here in good old alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe for Carolina BBQ. If you are unfamiliar with this style of BBQ you may not like it. I slow cooked a 7 pound pork butt for about 17 hours on my Kamado BBQ, shredded it and put it in a crock-pot with all of the sauce. I served it with Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw recipe with the pork on a hamburger bun. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Busch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I FIND IT REALLY HARD TO PASS UP RATING A SAUCE THATS TITLE CAROLINA BBQ SAUCE, LET ME SAY AGAIN AS A EAST CAROLINA GIRL THIS IS THE TRUE EASTERN CAROLINA WAY. VINEGAR VINGAR VINEGAR, THATS THE KEY, ALSO THIS VERSION YOU DO NOT COOK. WHICH IS MOSTLY HOW I USE IT, IT IS BEST ON PORK BUT CHICKEN RULES ALSO, USE IT THROUGH OUT THE GRILLING PROCESS. IF USED ONLY ON COOKED MEAT IT WILL BE OVER POWERING. ALSO I ALWAYS USE RED PEPPER FLAKES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
vinegar is a bit overpowering otherwise excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Ault

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is a very authentic Eastern Carolina-style sauce. It's spicy and great on pulled pork. I added a little onion powder, garlic powder, and a little dried thyme, but other than that, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States