Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have been craving BBQ from Moore's BBQ in New Bern, NC for a few years now. Since I am on the other side of the country, I have to make the BBQ and the sauce myself and I have to tell you, this is the best Eastern NC bbq sauce recipe I have found and it reminds me of the taste of the sauce used at Moore's. My husband even loves it and he's not even from the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is what makes North Cack bbq the best in the country. I was born and raised in Greensboro, NC and have been eating both "Lexington Style" and "Eastern Style" Que all my life. This recipe gets it about as right as I have seen for Eastern NC style. The only suggestion to make it even more "Carolina" authentic is to substitute the Tabasco with Texas Pete. Texas Pete has a little bit different flavor than Tabasco and you will never walk into a "real" North Carolina BBQ spot without seeing a bottle of Texas Pete on all the tables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This as as simple as it gets, and spot-on for an Eastern NC sauce. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Pincus
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Perfect sauce! Everyone loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mary

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Perfect Eastern NC BBQ sauce! I love this recipe. I've made it several times and it's always spot-on. I do use red pepper flakes instead of cayenne though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Just the taste I was looking for. So tasty and tangy with a nice bite! Perfect on pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
25 years in North Carolina eating bbq. This is it. Excellent. Often you will see red pepper flakes in other varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Good, not exactly what I ate growing up in Carolina but everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I'm from Texas originally but wanted something different for pulled pork. I mixed this up in bottle so everyone could just squirt some on their pulled pork. It was very good! The only thing I did differently was to use all apple cider vinegar and throw in some red pepper flakes. My husband loves vinegar and he was in Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I've never been much for the vinegar base BBQ cause I'm from the north and would prefer regular BBQ sauce, but this was very good and I would make it again. Just a note: I did add a touch of red pepper flakes for a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States