Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I thought this sauce was very good, but a little to tangy for me. Next time, I will use the full amount of cider vinegar and leave out the white vinegar for a more mellow flavor. I also reduced the cayenne pepper and added red pepper flakes since I saw that in so many other NC BBQ sauce recipes on this site. I did enjoy this sauce and I will try it again when we make pulled pork in the slow cooker so it will have time to mellow out while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I've tried many BBQ sause recipes and this one is by far the best, however I added shaved orange peelings to it and a couple of orange slices and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The best, I have been ordering a sause online from a vendor I will not mention. This sause is so close to the other sause I will make my own from now on. Thank you so much for the recipie.... this is the best NC Sause you will find, make lots you will use it on everything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob0815
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Sorry, I was hoping this would really be a hit. It was too vinegary (even though eastern NC style sauce IS vinegary). It lacked something, I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This sauce is awesome! I grew up on Eastern North Carolina BBQ and its my absolute favorite and this tastes like my favorite restaurant! I've made it a couple of times and its great everytime!! I wouldn't change it at all, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I followed recipe to the exact amounts and the vinegar was a bit over powering. I would def. make again, I would just cut back on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
A little undecided on this one. I think the flavor was nice, but our chicken that we cooked on the grill came out very very dry. I'm giving this recipe three stars because we are all novices at grilling here, so it could have been how we cooked it. Also, barbecue (low & slow) is traditionally different than grilling (fast and hight) so that could have made a difference. I'm going to try this again in the slow cooker and see if that makes a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
East Carolina BBQ Sauce is the only style BBQ I have ever loved! Thanks so much for the recipe. It's perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I'm a displaced North Carolinian and this is as close to home as it gets. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Wonderful!! I grew up in Nags Head, NC and now live in Costa Rica. It had been almost a year since I had NC BBQ. There is good pork down here in CR, the sauce was perfect!!! Made me feel like I was home!! Made slaw and baked beans, Amazing dinner!!! Thanks for the recipe! I needed a little NC in CR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States