Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just how I remember it when visiting Granny and Family. Add hot pepper flakes. Complete with coleslaw on top and put on a hamburger bun. There is noting like NC BBQ. Any body know of a good cheese biscuit recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great North Carolina Sauce and every easy to make! Everyone loved it! We added a bit more spice for the heat lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was easy to make. I didnt put the brown sugar in mine because I dont like the sweet taste in my food. I did however use Lawrys seasoning salt instead of regular salt and added garlic powder. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
My word of caution, being from NC, having lived in Eastern part of state for years and years, where I did undergrad and grad work, ate pulled pork in homes, backyards, bbq shacks--the best--restaurants down around Wilson, Kenley, Selma, Goldsboro to parts more hither--this is more of a mopping sauce, which--cut some of apple cider vinegar or white vinegar say 1/4 cup vinegar to apple juice and I get more authentic mop. The sauce itself is vinegary yes, but that which you might want to put on pork, add some brown sugar about a cup or UNTIL IT TASTES GOOD TO YOU. Yeah, you can ratchet down heat, but then it won't be Eastern NC sauce. To balance heat can add more brown sugar. But again, I see this more as a mop and less as a Eastern NC finishing sauce. "I am from Western NC and DO NOT LIKE tomato based sauces." Repeat, rinse. Do love some SC mustard/molasses sauces, which with cider vinegar, and brown sugar, makes a great finishing sauce for pulled pork. I know we say "save mustard for yer dawgs and ketchup for yer burger" but I've SEEN the Eastern NC cheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great. Even my little piggy's loved it!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
We went to the Old Salem Tavern and had these wonderful sweet potato fries with BBQ on the top sprinkled with white cheddar and this sauce reminds me of that flavorful experience. You nailed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Easy to make and goes perfectly with my pork shoulder which has spent the last 8 hours in my crockpot with a can of coke (super easy). The vinegar melts with the pork fat and the spice kick is perfect. Going back for seconds now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
It was very good for my 1st time making NC BBQ. I'm from MA living in NC right now. I make it very different usually. I'm preferring vinegar these days. I don't have cayenne in the house so I used chili powder. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just like the kind I had in North Carolina...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arianne Torres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I smoked a couple of 8lb butts and made this sauce and 2 others. I let everyone choose the type of sauce they wanted. As fate would have it, one of the people that we had over is from NC. She said this is just like she remembers her grandfather making!! Where we live, most people slather on the thick, sweet, tomato-based sauces. It was good to taste pork with the tang of vinegar, they go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States