Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Easy to make and goes perfectly with my pork shoulder which has spent the last 8 hours in my crockpot with a can of coke (super easy). The vinegar melts with the pork fat and the spice kick is perfect. Going back for seconds now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
It was very good for my 1st time making NC BBQ. I'm from MA living in NC right now. I make it very different usually. I'm preferring vinegar these days. I don't have cayenne in the house so I used chili powder. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just like the kind I had in North Carolina...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arianne Torres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I smoked a couple of 8lb butts and made this sauce and 2 others. I let everyone choose the type of sauce they wanted. As fate would have it, one of the people that we had over is from NC. She said this is just like she remembers her grandfather making!! Where we live, most people slather on the thick, sweet, tomato-based sauces. It was good to taste pork with the tang of vinegar, they go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Growing up in NC, I've eaten a lot of NC BBQ but I've never made it myself. All I could taste was vinegar. What did I do wrong? I followed the recipe EXACTLY. I was hoping for something like Smithfield's BBQ but this was sour and overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good flavor, but I prefer the sauce with the pepper flakes in it as opposed to the ground pepper. The ground pepper seems to make it hotter than the flakes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Wow dis da s h i t!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Definitely a good sauce! It was a little peppery for my husband but not nearly as much bite once it was on the meat than by itself. I ended up cooking it on the stove since I didnt have a few days to wait for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My dad loved this sauce, said it was like his mama use to make! I put it on pulled pork in the crockpot. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Super Easy, Very Authentic, Great Flavor. I used Texas Pete's Hot sauce since I had no Tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States