Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I moved from Eastern NC to Seattle 5 years ago. I've been searching for a proper BBQ sauce for all 5 of those years, and now I've finally found it. It's just like the stuff I used to get back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Awesome. Just the flavor I was looking for. It was too spicy for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Great recipe, and easily converted to low-carb without losing noticeable flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
this is a good sauce but a lil more spicy than used to. instead of the hot sauce we use red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just how I remember it when visiting Granny and Family. Add hot pepper flakes. Complete with coleslaw on top and put on a hamburger bun. There is noting like NC BBQ. Any body know of a good cheese biscuit recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great North Carolina Sauce and every easy to make! Everyone loved it! We added a bit more spice for the heat lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was easy to make. I didnt put the brown sugar in mine because I dont like the sweet taste in my food. I did however use Lawrys seasoning salt instead of regular salt and added garlic powder. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
My word of caution, being from NC, having lived in Eastern part of state for years and years, where I did undergrad and grad work, ate pulled pork in homes, backyards, bbq shacks--the best--restaurants down around Wilson, Kenley, Selma, Goldsboro to parts more hither--this is more of a mopping sauce, which--cut some of apple cider vinegar or white vinegar say 1/4 cup vinegar to apple juice and I get more authentic mop. The sauce itself is vinegary yes, but that which you might want to put on pork, add some brown sugar about a cup or UNTIL IT TASTES GOOD TO YOU. Yeah, you can ratchet down heat, but then it won't be Eastern NC sauce. To balance heat can add more brown sugar. But again, I see this more as a mop and less as a Eastern NC finishing sauce. "I am from Western NC and DO NOT LIKE tomato based sauces." Repeat, rinse. Do love some SC mustard/molasses sauces, which with cider vinegar, and brown sugar, makes a great finishing sauce for pulled pork. I know we say "save mustard for yer dawgs and ketchup for yer burger" but I've SEEN the Eastern NC cheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great. Even my little piggy's loved it!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
We went to the Old Salem Tavern and had these wonderful sweet potato fries with BBQ on the top sprinkled with white cheddar and this sauce reminds me of that flavorful experience. You nailed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States