Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
You want to make this receipe a whole lot better. Use Texas Pete. Add 1 cup of water. Put in a sauce or boiler pot and bring to a boil and cover. Let it simmer for at least 20 minutes, tightly covered. I perfer using red pepper mixed and crushed well to almost a powder in a mortar/pestle. This sauce is have more flavor as the ingredients are now cooked together. It is much better when using on pit cooked hog. I usually make it by the gallon and use while cooking. 7 hours down and then 1 hour up and make sure you don't stick the hog. This allows the juices to run off which isn't good. Then use this sauce to flavor if you are cutting it up. Best sauce made. I also make it with ketchup if having a bunch in from TEXAS. Try my receipe and you will find it makes it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
PERFECT!!! My father in law is from Albemarle, NC and he has always raved about the bbq. I made this sauce for him and he said it is exactly like what he used to get in the Eastern carolina bbq joints. Me being from southern Colorado and used to the sloppy sticky sweet sometimes spicy red sauce, I had no idea what the difference was. I made this recipe along with a slow roasted pork butt recipe from one of my favorite food network stars Anne Burell. I am now an EASTERN Norh Carolina BBQ lover and I will NEVER go back!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
not bad but, You should use red pepper flakes, and not cayenne pepper. Also cut it down to 1 teaspoon for mild, 1 tablespoon for spicy. Also you do not need to let this set for 1 or 2 days, simply put it in the microwave for 2 mins this will help the pepper flakes to combine with the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I've never had anything like this, and I was eager to make it. It's good. I'm taking it to a pig roast tomorrow. I did add my own touches - just a touch more sugar, and a little allspice, which I love with pork. (I'm sure some will cry foul, but honestly food is about what you love, not how someone says it has to be.) :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I moved from Eastern NC to Seattle 5 years ago. I've been searching for a proper BBQ sauce for all 5 of those years, and now I've finally found it. It's just like the stuff I used to get back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Awesome. Just the flavor I was looking for. It was too spicy for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Great recipe, and easily converted to low-carb without losing noticeable flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
this is a good sauce but a lil more spicy than used to. instead of the hot sauce we use red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just how I remember it when visiting Granny and Family. Add hot pepper flakes. Complete with coleslaw on top and put on a hamburger bun. There is noting like NC BBQ. Any body know of a good cheese biscuit recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great North Carolina Sauce and every easy to make! Everyone loved it! We added a bit more spice for the heat lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States