Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Yup, this is how we make our sauce here in eastern NC. I do add crushed red pepper and a little more Texas Pete to mine. You can pour it by the gallon on a whole hog, or you can use it to prepare NC-style BBQ in your slow cooker. It's also good over grilled chicken, which is what we had for a 4th of July lunch. Thanks for sharing our eastern NC way of making BBQ sauce with all of the Allrecipeeps. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
So easy and so good. Its the only recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Newtown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I don't care for BBQ sauce, but when I mix this sauce w/ a little BBQ sauce, I can tolerate it a lot better. By itself - it can be a little strong (for me), but still a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I LOVE this. I fool around with the hotness by adding crushed pepper flakes. A must for pulled pork sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Good, could decrease the vinegar some. The best recipe similar to eastern NC bar b que I've found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I added a tablespoon of white sugar, an onion slice (finely chopped) and 3 tablespoons of red wine vinegar for the great taste of home. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was SOOOOOOO good! It was way too spicy for me to eat as much as I wanted, but I will def make it again...with alot less cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I have searched for a recipe like this for 22 years. Ever since I had this style BBQ in Goldsboro, NC. I was a huge success. Even people that don't like spicy stuff loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used to work in a very successful BB-Q house in eastern NC, and the only thing that your recipe is missing is the juice of one lemon. This recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I've only had Eastern Carolina sauce a few times, so I can't say for sure how accurate this is. But I can tell you it's a very tasty BBQ sauce option. I made it a tad spicier and sweeter than called for and I simmered it on the stove for a little while to help the flavors meld faster. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States