Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this with pulled pork and it was outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erindelight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was pretty good. My mom was from North Carolina and the pulled pork BBQ sauce I've had, was a bit more sweet then this recipe. I added more brown sugar and cut down on the cayenne. The mix should be a combo of tangy and sweet, not so much hot as this recipe asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Great barbecue sauce! I poured this over freshly pulled pork I cooked in a slow-cooker to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I used this recipe for drum sticks on the grill. The sauce definately kept the chicken very moist, but I didnt feel like it gave it a ton of flavor. It was not even that spicy. Maybe it just was not ment to be put on drumsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I lived in North Carolina for 17 years and this sauce is the closest sauce that I have ever tasted used at a pig-picking or purchasing from one of the many BBQ restraunts I have eaten at. We moved to Maine 2 years ago (2006) and my daughter requested a southern BBQ meal for her birthday, so we made pulled pork BBQ with this recipe, hush puppies, KFC Mac & Cheese, KFC Cole Slaw, and Baked Beans. Of course we had to have SWEET TEA too. It was fun and we are going to add the pulled pork with this sauce to our menu every week. Once you try it you will understand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Huge Hit at the party I had! I made kabobs with New York Strips and this was the maranaide. Delicious! I gave the recipe to 3 people before they left. I think I will have to make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Not sure how to rate this. the sauce taste great and loved it. would give it 5 stars. However I couldnt figure out how to cook with it. not really a sauce where you can apply it to anything. but was more of a liquid. I decided top crockpot a beef roast and make a pull pork sandwiches out of it. it was very good but becuase of the liquid added by the cooking of meat it lost some of it punch but was very good. I tried to think of a way to thicken it. thought abotuu adding ketchup, tomato paste and mustard. but then it would lost the nc BBQ sauce label. So I give the recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Great recipe i'm from eastern NC but live here in Japan now, this recipe made me feel like I was home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Wow. This is great stuff! We moved to NC about a year ago and wherever I can try pulled pork with this type of BBQ sauce, I do. Never had it before moving here!! I followed a recipe on RecipeZaar (at least the cooking part) for a Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich but I used Szeged "World's Best" Rib Rub (it is in a can, usually in the 'import' section of your grocery store) rather than making my own. Sprinkled that on the pork butt, wrapped it several times over in plastic wrap and stuck it in the fridge for 12 hours prior to cooking. Plopped it in the crock pot, put 1/2 of this sauce in there and set it to cook for the day. Shredded the meat, added some more sauce, put it on a roll with some coleslaw spooned on top and viola... a sandwich to rival local restaurants... and most importantly, my kids loved it.... ESPECIALLY the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States