Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I followed recipe to the exact amounts and the vinegar was a bit over powering. I would def. make again, I would just cut back on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
A little undecided on this one. I think the flavor was nice, but our chicken that we cooked on the grill came out very very dry. I'm giving this recipe three stars because we are all novices at grilling here, so it could have been how we cooked it. Also, barbecue (low & slow) is traditionally different than grilling (fast and hight) so that could have made a difference. I'm going to try this again in the slow cooker and see if that makes a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
East Carolina BBQ Sauce is the only style BBQ I have ever loved! Thanks so much for the recipe. It's perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I'm a displaced North Carolinian and this is as close to home as it gets. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Wonderful!! I grew up in Nags Head, NC and now live in Costa Rica. It had been almost a year since I had NC BBQ. There is good pork down here in CR, the sauce was perfect!!! Made me feel like I was home!! Made slaw and baked beans, Amazing dinner!!! Thanks for the recipe! I needed a little NC in CR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
With BBQ sauce, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, there is no one right sauce. So, I give this one 5-stars, but have my comments. Note that my favorite sauces are vinegar or vinegar/ketchup based. -vinegar overpowers, I would reduce vinegar and especially reduce the white vinegar -spices do not "dissolve," too much sediment. Cooking it would probably help or straining after sitting a few days - need to shake it frequently -needs a touch more sweetness - more sugar, molasses or honey -be careful with what hot sauce you use, they don't all taste he same. I used Texas Pete and it tainted the flavor of the sauce in a negative way - I'll skip the hot sauce next time and use more cayenne or red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking with little buddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Really good. Just like most places in NC. If you mix just a spoonful of commercial BBQ sauce into this, and add to pulled pork...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideorder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmmLeslie
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Not quite like home, but close. The second time around I added another tbsp of sugar, a few shakes of worchestershire, some garlic salt & cut the cider vinegar in half. As close as I've come to SC&B...for all you NC natives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmLeslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was very authentic and tasted very good! Will use in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vtshag

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I did this recipe exactly the way it said to. The sauce tasted like straight up vinegar and no spices...I'm not sure what went wrong but the only reason I gave it a star was becuase i had to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the1stnoel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States